Start up time drastically reduced after installing Vista

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by StrokeMidnight, Jul 1, 2009.

  1. StrokeMidnight macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #1
    OK, so I've had a lot of trouble running boot camp on my new iMac. The first time I tried to install it it ended up installing twice and the aero and flip 3D features weren't available. I used it for a while, but then I realized that something didn't seem to be right so I deleted the partition (it deleted my iChat buddy list somehow too and I had to delete my preferences to get it back). Whenever I restarted the computer it would still try to boot windows though for some reason and would say boot disc not available unless I held down the option key and selected OS X. Eventually I switched the start disc to OS X again. I tried installation again today and I got the same result. However, now it decreased my start up speed a lot. It took me two attempts to start up the computer after clicking restart in Vista, the first time I timed (it was taking so long I used the stopwatch on my phone) and I timed it at around 6 minutes not including the time before I started the stopwatch. I pressed the power button because it never loaded and tried again. Same thing for around 3 minutes. Now I deleted the Windows partition, but it takes about 38 seconds for OS X to boot, which I hear is much longer than normal. Sometimes it spends about 15 seconds on the blue screen, which I don't think is right.

    Is there something I can do?
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    This is caused by corrupt PRAM settings. Resetting the PRAM should cure this. (To reset PRAM, hold down :apple:+Option+P+R after the startup "bong" sound, and keep it held until the computer restarts twice.)
     
  3. StrokeMidnight thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #3
    Ok thanks.

    So to clarify, I should restart it, and while it restarts I hold that key combination. Then it will automatically restart again and then it's reset correct? Or does it restart and then I have to manually restart again?

    After doing this is it a good idea to try installing Windows again?
     
  4. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #4
    Almost. It will continue to auto-restart as long as those keys are held down. It's not necessary to hold them down for longer than 2 auto-restarts though.

    In answer to your second question, resetting the PRAM won't affect Windows at all, so there's no need to reinstall it unless it's broken in some other way.
     
  5. StrokeMidnight thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #5
    Well I deleted the partition so if I want to use Windows I'd have to reinstall it. The problem is that I think it's doing a faulty install. Each time I install it Aero is not enabled and cannot be enabled and I know it should because it worked on my older Mac. Also, none of the games have run so far. I've sat through some three hour downloads and after they finished downloading it gave me an error message and crashed. I'm not sure if this is a fault on the windows side or on the game side.
     

Share This Page