Starting From Scratch w/$5,000 What Should I Buy?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Freewayjim, Aug 4, 2008.

1. Freewayjim macrumors regular

Freewayjim

I'm a newbie poster but have read many forums here so I know that you all really know your stuff so here's the scenario; My 24" 2.8GHz iMac was fried in a lighting strike/fire at home last month and I'd like some opinions of what to buy as I rebuild my setup. What I have currently is a 2 year old 15.4 MPB and a 4 Year old 17" Dell XPS2 Windows Machine (from before I became enlightened and switched to Mac in 2006)

The iMac was great but I want to downsize to one Apple machine and it's got to be a laptop (15.4 or 17" MBP) w/Applecare. I would be using this machine at work and in my home office (a short commute), I travel a couple times a year (By Car) and don't frequent the local Starbucks at all :)

I'll need an external monitor for at home, I'm open to the ACD or Gateway 30" models but if there is a great choice in the 24"-26" size I'm open to that too

Also, what would you recommend for Windows? VMWare Fusion or Parallels 3.0? (I use Parallels 2.0 on the MBP and it's passable)

The Mac programs I use most are Final Cut Express 4, Photoshop Elements 6, Toast 8, Parallels & Microsoft Office 2004 (Will probably upgrade to 2008 w/new machine)

Between insurance, selling my 15.4" MBP and some "mad money" there will be roughly $5K to work with, so what should I buy?

Thanks in advance for your suggestions!

2. tmelvin macrumors 6502

tmelvin

Wow...well, if it were me...

I'd get a 17" Hi Res. with all but the memory upgrade [get that 3rd party]. Then go for the DELL screens. Size is up to you, but the ACD's are a little overrated IMHO. Then get something like TC, or AE [unless you already have that].

If u really wanted a backup system, then go for a low end MB...

3. Consultant macrumors G5

Consultant

UPS (uninterrupted power source with battery power and surge protector)