Starting games with crossover (for a noob)

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by schuco01, Jun 21, 2009.

  1. schuco01 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    #1
    So i got the crossover demo cause i don't really wanna buy it if it sucks for the games i wanted to play. I got an Mac but have a couple of windows games i would like to play without having to install windows on my mac. I installed the game and got the disks and whatnot in and out without a hitch, but when i try to start the game it tells me i have to insert disk 1. So i was wondering if someone could explain how to get around this problem. given that i know very little about computers i would prefer a relatively simple explanation... Thanks for your help
     
  2. schuco01 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    #2
    i suppose it would be helpful to mention that i'm trying to play LOTR battle for middle earth II on there. i haven't tried empires at war/forces of corruption or DoW yet because if it wouldn't work with LOTR i didn't want to waste space/time
     
  3. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #3
    Try downloading a NoCD patch, should do the trick. As for the other games you mention I've only tried DoW (the complete collection) and for me it works 100% perfectly.
     
  4. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Boot Camp is the only option if you're going to be gaming.

    I'm assuming since you're posting in the Windows on a Mac forum that you have an Intel Mac?
     
  5. schuco01 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    #5
    would that patch be on the games website? or would i have to look for it in crossover? and i might do bootcamp, but i really don't know how well the systems operate together, i've seen comments that are in favor, and against it...
     
  6. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #6
    Do a Google search on "game name"+Nocd, that should get you a patch, then find the Crossover games folder in Library-->Application Support, the site where you get the patch from should tell you where to put it. Some games work brilliantly on Crossover and for them there is no need to Bootcamp, others won't work at all.
     
  7. MyDesktopBroke macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
  8. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #8

    No, Crossover doesn't make the game, therefore they wouldn't have patches for some random Windows game. You get it from the developer's website.
     
  9. Bengt77 macrumors 68000

    Bengt77

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Location:
    Europe
    #9
    I think he was asking if he could find the patch on the game's website, though. As for the answer to that question: I don't think so, as no-cd patches are usually not exactly legal.
     
  10. schuco01 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    #10
    thats what i would have figured... but i didn't want to waste too much time looking for one. lol... thanks for the help
     
  11. Keleko macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #11
    I have loaded all of those games in Crossover. They all do work once you get the nocd "patch" for them. Battle for Middle Earth 2 was not totally solid, but it is playable. The others seemed quite solid playing.
     
  12. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #12
    They are a legal grey area, if you've gone out and bought a copy of the game then no one is really going to care if you use a nocd patch, though running one copy on multiple machines is technically not allowed.
     

Share This Page