Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

betty02

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 9, 2005
Blackpool - UK
Well, ive got the magazine Mac Create from when it started (3 months ago) and it has alot of work that can be done to enhance photo's, ive always liked snapping with a crapy digital camera, but when i try to get serious and take some good shots it just doesn't work for me, im hoping to start up properly, its my brothers wedding in a year aswell, eh said if my work gets good he will pay me as much as he would a normal proffesionla photographer, and his best man said the same lol, im new to it really so don't want to go blow loads of money on a camera and then be light 'wtf?!?!?!'i will be buying of e-bay as its the cheapest place lol, so please can someone help me.

Theres a few questions

1. What camera should i get thats good but cheap?
2. What is the best version on photoshop to have? (CS,Elements,7.0)
3. Is Aperpeture worth buying if im thinking about being serious?
4. Will having swapable lenses be hard to get used to?

Thanks all

Garcia

macrumors member
Nov 3, 2005
betty02 said:

Well, it just depends on how serious you want to get, the canon 300D is a really good camera still with a really good price second hand. If you want to go slightly better then the new Canon rebel XT and Nikon D50 are fairly cheap from new.

I use CS2, only becuase i have to, i run a business using it but elements is advanced enough for most people, even free G.I.M.P would be adequate. (not sure if they handle RAW files though)

Again, depends on how serious you get, it look fantastic but seeing how it isn't in lots of peoples hand yet its hard to say. You will be able to get by with photoshop for your RAW