Starting Programming Advice

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by iAppleMacBook, Jan 31, 2011.

1. iAppleMacBook macrumors newbie

Please could someone advise me on what programming language to learn first, I have no programming experience. I would like to learn something that will be beneficial and recognised to help me start a career in programming?
    Also what tools would I need to learn the suggested language?

Thanks

2. Cromulent macrumors 603

Cromulent

First things first you need to download Xcode to get all the compilers, tools and infrastructure installed.

Opinions are divided some say start with C first, some say Objective-C others say Python or Ruby. All will probably get you to where you want to go and are good quality languages. I started with C myself but understand that not everyone feels comfortable following that approach. Although I do think it did me a great benefit.

If that is what you want to start with then once you have Xcode installed (you can download it from http://developer.apple.com/iphone - you may as well get the iPhone SDK at the same time in case you ever want to do some iPhone stuff) you should get yourself a decent book. The two books I will recommend are "Pointers on C" and "The C Programming Language 2nd Edition".

If instead you would rather start with Python you can just head over here and read this tutorial: http://docs.python.org/tutorial/index.html - I have to say that Python is incredibly nice to use and despite what some might say it is as good as any other language I hear people recommend.

I would personally recommend that you ignore anything with the work BASIC in the title.

P.S Read the guides at the top of this forum.

3. iAppleMacBook thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks a lot, much appreciated. I think I will go with C and see how I get on!

4. iAppleMacBook thread starter macrumors newbie

What would I use in Developer Tools to compile a C program?

5. Cromulent macrumors 603

Cromulent