Starting the new Computer Room

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by bunnspecial, May 28, 2015.

  1. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #1
    This has been a long time coming, but my room mate has been planning on moving out for a while to be closer to work(and his girlfriend) and I decided to just take over the full payment on the apartment.

    He has a few lingering pieces of furniture, but I've already started "annexing" his old bedroom. It's ultimately going to be both a computer and reloading room. I'm working on getting tables and actually getting as much as I can permanently set-up, but here's about an hour's worth of work this evening.

    On the left is a Cube connected to a 22" Cinema, in the center is a Sawtooth, and on the right is my Quicksilver with the Gigadesigns Dual upgrade(running at 1.6ghz) and a 23" HD Cinema. This computer has the 9600 PC&Mac, so I'm using an A1006 to power the ADC.

    The Sawtooth is in serious need of more RAM-I just didn't feel like sorting through the RAM drawer this evening(although I do at least have my SDRAM drawer fairly well organized with the sticks bagged and marked by type). The last time I used it was to check capacities on unmarked sticks, and it got left with 3x32mb sticks.

    I have the 17" CRT ADC and 15" ADC coming in. I also have a 17" LCD and 20" Cinema at my parents' house that will be brought in as space permits. That will give me the full collection of ADC displays.

    Now if I could just find the 21" CRT to go with one of my B&Ws, and a 15" LCD for one of the other B&Ws(I have the 17" CRT).
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
  3. Gamer9430 macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
    #3
    Damn... I want to do that in a room in the basement, too bad my parents are making it into an office, lol
     
  4. bunnspecial thread starter macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #4
    Wing one of the museum. I found out where my new office is going to be, and I'll have plenty of room there for the "public" museum :) .

    My new Quad(when it arrives) is probably going in there for a main computer, or if I have issues with it I'll keep using the dual core. I'm going to take a beige G3 in for writing, a Cube just because :) and probably an MDD(I'm thinking a single 1.25) as a secondary/TA computer. I may also use a 7100 running System 7.5 as a Localtalk-Ethernet bridge. There's already a nice serial port Laserwriter in the office that I can commandeer :)
     
  5. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #5
    Unh, uh.

    The museum is in Phoenix. This is the annex. His people are talking to my people. ;)
     
  6. tevion5 macrumors 68000

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #6
    One of my college professors has a a really nice modern sizable glass office in the brand new Science Building and he has it chock full of PowerBooks, Quadras and a 22" Apple CRT to show off to all the other professors every day :p

    Another one (with an office in the old building) has one of the nicest desktops ever. Dual 30" ACD's, Harmon Kardon Soundsticks, and a 2013 Mac Pro! (Used to have a G5 until last year). Snapped a picture of it while he was out one day:

    IMG_8741.JPG
     
  7. iModFrenzy macrumors 6502a

    iModFrenzy

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Location:
    501st Legion
    #7
    Those dual monitors are making me drool:eek:

    ----------

    I like the museum, the cinema monitors are nice!:)
     
  8. A.Goldberg macrumors 68000

    A.Goldberg

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    Late 90's/early 2000's Computer Lab.

    You need some furniture there. I'd love to see the room filled up.
     
  9. bunnspecial, May 29, 2015
    Last edited: May 29, 2015

    bunnspecial thread starter macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #9
    I'm working on the furniture, although I'm limited somewhat by his stuff still there(he's paying me a pretty generous storage fee until it's all gone). If nothing else, it's uncomfortable to use a computer on the floor :)

    I'm probably going to watch for the next University surplus sale and see if I can pick up a couple of Steelcase tables and/or desks. I do have a nice old white oak teacher's desk at my parents' house that's coming up also when I have the space. I actually prefer just plain tables, though, as I don't need the storage space the drawers provide and they make it easier to put multiple computers on one table.

    It won't be late '90s/early '2000s exclusively either :) . The oldest computer in there will be a c.1990 Macintosh SE. My late '06 iMac is going up there, and I do want to get a Mac Pro(probably a 2,1 or 3,1). One G5 is staying at my desk downstairs. I have a Quad on the way, which may either go up in the computer room or replace my office computer(in which case I'll bring the current DC 2.0 home for the computer room).

    Of course, I have to leave space for the reloading equipment also. I have a couple hundred pounds of bullets(which don't take up that much space, fortunately) that need to come up, along with 40 or 50 lbs of powder, 10K or so primers(I'm running low) and who knows how much brass. It doesn't help either that I've gone nuts with casting bullets the past week. I bought a 6 cavity mold on Wednesday, and now that I have properly seasoned and going it takes me know time to crank out bullets by the hundreds. I had to stop and refill my 10lb lead pot a couple of times this evening-I'm working out of a 5 gallon bucket of wheel weights that started at around 150lbs and I'd guess is still well over 100(of course, I've thrown out a lot crap, too-iron and zinc weight don't even go in the pot, and the lead ones give up their steel clips and all the road crap on them).
     
  10. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #10
    Your landlord doesn't mind having 50 lbs of highly explosive Smokeless powder in the building?
    Or maybe he just doesn't know!:eek:
     
  11. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #11
    Nice man! I'd love to come visit sometime, as I like in TN, wouldn't be too bad of a drive. Esp. since I'm looking at UT Chat or Knox in the future. I wish I had a proper place to display all of my stuff.
     
  12. bunnspecial thread starter macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #12
    Smokeless powder isn't explosive :)

    And I just don't talk about the black powder...
     

Share This Page