Starting up from a Time-Machine drive

Discussion in 'macOS' started by MarkW19, Dec 2, 2007.

  1. MarkW19 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #1
    I used to back up using Super Duper, which made a carbon copy of my startup disk, so that I could start up from my back up disk if anything happened (physically) to my primary HD.

    Can the same be done with the disk I use to back up with Time Machine, can I start up from it? If so, how?
     
  2. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
  3. MarkW19 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #3
    That's annoying. So if my HD fails, I'm basically left without a computer!

    I've used Time Machine once since getting Leopard on 29th Oct, to recover something irrelevant.

    Maybe I should go back to my old method...
     
  4. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #4
    FWIW, I do a SD backup a few times a month on a partition on my external drive and use TM on another partition on same drive. While I haven't needed TM, it does work rather nicely at restoring files.
     
  5. maccompaq macrumors 65816

    maccompaq

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #5
    Just use SuperDuper or Carbon Copy Cloner to again create your bootable backup HD.
     
  6. MarkW19 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #6
    I'd need to create another partition on the same drive (I only have 2 drives) to use Super Duper on, wouldn't I? And sadly the drive is full as it is!
     
  7. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Looks like TM isn't for you...
     
  8. TimJim macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #8
    If your drive get's screwed up, you can restore it with TM but it's not bootable.

    Bootable copies are made with Carbon Copy Cloner or SuperDuper!
     
  9. maccompaq macrumors 65816

    maccompaq

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #9
    If your hard drive is almost full, you might consider getting an external Firewire drive and then use SuperDuper to clone the internal HD to it.
     
  10. Virgil-TB2 macrumors 65816

    Virgil-TB2

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #10
    You can use Time Machine to restore all your stuff, just in a different way though. And I would bet that the amount of time it takes you would be almost identical to what it would take with the other method.

    If TM was bootable, you still would have to copy all your stuff back to your main drive and reconstruct it as you can't use, (and no one would really expect to use), the TM drive as the main hard drive from that point forward.

    So the procedure there would be:

    - boot from TM (if you could)
    - spend X hours copying the stuff back to the main drive

    With TM the way it actually is (non-bootable):

    - boot from Leopard CD and pick TM as source of old data
    - spend X hours copying the stuff onto the main drive

    Personally, I don't see the difference.

    I mean, obviously there is a difference, but it's like the difference between a brown horse and a black horse IMO.
     

Share This Page