Starting up Mac straight to Windows Vista

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by theweber3, Mar 25, 2009.

  1. theweber3 macrumors member

    theweber3

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Location:
    Washington State
    #1
    I have Fusion 2 and was wondering if it was possible to start my Mac up to the Vista operating system...
    I think it will run much faster this way.

    Any tips are appreciated.
     
  2. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #2
    You do realize that Fusion is just like Parallels, where you have a virtual machine running atop the Mac OS, right? You cannot technically "boot" your computer to Vista because the computer doesn't actually recognize it as a separate partition, like it would, say, for a Boot Camp installation.
     
  3. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Fusion is a means of running Windows via virtual machine. You can't boot up into it. It's an app you run in OS X. If it's speed you're looking for, save yourself $70 and just use Boot Camp.
     
  4. Markov macrumors 6502

    Markov

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #4
    If you wanted to use both VM Ware Fusion and boot into it natively, you can indeed do that. To do this you need to do a boot camp install of Vista (meaning it will actually take space on your hard drive in a separate partition on your disk). Follow through the steps to install Vista via boot camp (using boot camp assistant [very simple]). Once you have done that, open VM Ware and it will let you run your boot camp install side by side with OS X when you choose to. I do believe you still need to install the VM Ware tools, but this shouldn't mess with it when you boot the entire computer into Vista.
     
  5. RedRaven571 macrumors 65816

    RedRaven571

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #5
    Yes, I have my iMac set up that way with XP SP2; I can boot into it natively or run it as a virtual via Fusion. BTW, when I have it in XP natively, unless I choose (by clicking on the Boot Camp black diamond) to boot it into OS X, each time I restart the computer, it boots into XP.
     

Share This Page