Startup disk full (But really isn't)

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by Ruffian, Aug 17, 2009.

  1. Ruffian macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    #1
    I've been plagued recently with OS X 10.5.x Server (.6 .7 .8) having issues stating that my startup disk is full, even though there's over 350 GB free.

    I am currently using OS X Server 10.5.8 (new install) on a Mac Pro (Intel) startupdisk is a 500 GB drive (nothing on it but the OS) and all of my data/shares reside on another drive (another 500 GB drive).

    The server is joined to an Active Directory Domain. When this happens all connections to the server are refused. The only way I've been able to resolve this is to reboot.

    If anyone has a solution this would be great as this is frustrating. I've searched for answers for this but none of the answers I've found matches the case for what I am experiencing.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #2
    No idea - but is there any info showing in the Console which might shed more light on this?
     
  3. Ruffian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    #3
    No, actually there's not.


    Honestly I am rather limited with the information I can retrieve as I have to resolve the issue immediately as it is a production server. But I have ran the 'df' in the console and also ran 'Whatsize' app - everything show that there is absolutely no reason why I should be getting this error message.

    Next time it happens (Which I expect will be either tomorrow or one day this week I will do a screen capture of everything I can think of that is pertinent. It would be helpful if you let me know what you feel might be good to convey at such said time so that I can obtain this while I can.


    Thanks.
     
  4. Riot_Mac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Location:
    IL
    #4
    I am having the same problem. 10.5.6 server is fine. As soon as I upgrade to 10.5.7 or 10.5.8 it happens every morning I come in. Hard disk is full. I restart and it recovers the space. I am stuck on 10.5.6... I used time machine to revert, which was really easy... btw.
     
  5. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #5
    It sounds like a process is filling up a file, then something else zeroes out said file. In Unix, the space isn't freed up until the process dies.

    Has anyone tried shutting off services until the issue goes away?
     
  6. Ruffian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    #6
    The only 'service' that is running is file sharing (under a standard server configuration).

    In short, I guess that's a 'no' answer.
     
  7. Ruffian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    #7
    This just happened again this morning.

    Today I couldn't even open the terminal, here is a Grab of the sizes of all the folders on the startup disk.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #8
    I'd recommend trying it. Otherwise, you'll never know if it's a log file that was zeroed out or not.
     
  9. Ruffian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    #9

    So, precisely what service are you recommend shutting off? Again, the only service running is the AFP sharing which is essential to the server running to begin with (This is a production server).


    Am I missing something, or could you elaborate so I can better understand what 'service' or 'services' you suggest I shut off?
     
  10. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #10
    I'm referring to any service that is running.

    If nobody can login then the server really isn't being useful, how about testing it then? It should take < 1 minute if the only service you are using is AFP. I doubt this extra minute is going to be noticed during the reboot.

    If you shutdown AFP, and the issue does not go away, then there's something core to the OS (potentially a system service) that is causing this.

    Why do you keep wrapping apostrophes around the word service?
     
  11. Les Kern macrumors 68040

    Les Kern

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Alabama
    #11
    I use a simple tool called "Find File" (as OS X will not search in places I sometimes want searched) and on occasion I sweep the invisible trash folders of "suspects". Here's a screen shot that looked for ".trash" and found a few files. This particular server has almost 300 home directories, so i have to keep an eye out so the kids don't fill the server up with dmg's and mp3's.
    This may not be it, but it's worth a look perhaps.
    I'd also erase free space with disk util, and replace the directory with DiskWarrior, which has saved my bacon on more than one occasion.
    Also, try inventorying your disk to see what's what with
    http://www.derlien.com
    If that shows no anomalies, I'd do DiskWarrior next.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Ruffian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    #12
    Thanks,

    Disk Inventory showed that there is a Cache.db that (so far) appears to be the culprit. This morning that file used all remaining space and the server wouldn't boot. Not sure what causes that to happen but, well at least I see the issue.
     
  13. Les Kern macrumors 68040

    Les Kern

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Alabama
    #13
    Where is that cache folder? Try making it read only (for a BIT. Might get some error windows pop up)
    If a cache folder is filling up THAT fast some more work is indicated. What does console say?
     
  14. Ruffian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    #14
    Location: /private/var/root/Library/Caches/com.apple.sof

    Never made it to the console the system was stuck booting (apple logo and spinning circle).

    I had to remove the startup disk and diagnose from my Mac at my desk to find the offending file. I deleted the file and replaced the drive. Booted normal.
     
  15. Les Kern macrumors 68040

    Les Kern

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Alabama
    #15
    Good luck!
     
  16. joekolenda macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    #16
    Had the same issue

    We had the same issue on our server. I could literally watch it fill up from the Get Info screen. I spent about a dozen hours with Apple on it and their solutions just never worked, including sending them info dumps and snapshots of every diagnostic tool I could find. The only thing that worked was a clean install and not replacing any of the old library - only our website. It has been fine since then.
     
  17. Ruffian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    #17
    Thanks for that reply.


    This is my Third iteration of a clean OS Install, so I am not sure that will resolve this specific issue.

    However, I am in-process of getting an XServe with SL - to connect to an EMC San. Hopefully I will be able to set up the new config and leave it in testing long enough to see if that config resolves the issue.
     

Share This Page