Startup Disk is Full

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by FRESHCORN, Nov 12, 2011.

  1. FRESHCORN macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    #1
    I keep getting the message that my startup disk is full. I tried deleting a lot of files and emptying my trash, but that didn't help. When I look at how my memory is being used, it says that I have "Zero KB free out of 499.25GB", and this is how it is being used:
    Audio- 43.93 GB
    Movies- 9.56 GB
    Photos- 1.38 GB
    Apps- 4.58 GB
    Backups- Zero KB
    Other- 439.8 GB
    So, I'm assuming that "other" is the problem, and I can't figure out what "other" is. I've tried downloading OmniDiskSweeper, but because my Startup Disk is full and I can't seem to make more space by deleting things, I can't download it. So basically I'm in a very aggravating pickle, and I would really appreciate some help.
     
  2. JavaTheHut macrumors 6502

    JavaTheHut

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    #2
    Just going to have a wild stab at this and its not to be considered an insult - Has your trash been emptied ever?
     
  3. Loa macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
  4. FRESHCORN thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    #4
    Read the second sentence dude.

    ----------

    Yep, Im using Lion.
     
  5. FRESHCORN thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    #5
    I figured it out!

    I deleted the caches on my browser and that freed up enough room to download OmniDiskSweeper, and then I used that and discovered that I had hundreds of gigs of deleted and recovered emails in Mail! So I deleted those, and now everything is honky-dory! Hopefully this helps some other people!
     
  6. Loa macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #6
    Hello,

    Glad to see that you found the culprit.

    Since you're using Lion, the OS will keep "hidden" versions of the files you delete. Look it up if you think it's a problem as there's a way to turn this "feature" off.

    Loa
     

Share This Page