State your mac pro's drive set-up

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by student_trap, Feb 22, 2010.

  1. student_trap macrumors 68000

    student_trap

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Location:
    'Ol Smokey, UK
    #1
    hey all,

    Thought this might be an interesting thing to do.

    State the way your dives are set-up, and your primary use for the mac pro.


    Mine is as follows:

    Primary Use: Photoshop

    Bay 1: 1TB WD Caviar Black in RAID 0 for everything
    Bay 2: 1TB WD Caviar Black in RAID 0 for everything
    Bay 3: 1TB Samsung F1 for backup
    Bay 4: soon to be a scratch drive

    Cheers all!
     
  2. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Primary use: Software development

    System drive + VM's
    ODD Bay 2: 160GB Intel G2

    Array for misc stuff, downloads and so
    ODD Bay 2: 320GB WD Black RAID0
    ODD Bay 2: 320GB WD BLack RAID0

    Array for more VM's + shared folders for VM's
    Bay 1: 1TB WD Black RAID0
    Bay 2: 1TB WD Black RAID0

    Array for multimedia data like iTunes
    Bay 3: 1.5TB WD Green RAID0
    Bay 4: 1.5TB WD Green RAID0

    Backup, Bootcamp and data all external via FireWire or NAS.
     
  3. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #3
    Copied and pasted from your other thread:

    Internally:
    300Gb Velociraptor
    Partition 1 (Macintosh HD 1): OS X + Lightroom Library
    Partition 2: Windows 7 Bootcamp

    1Tb WD Black
    Partition 1 (Macintosh HD 2.1): Photo library (550Gb)
    Partition 2 (Macintosh HD 2.2): Home folder (450Gb) (Music, documents, etc).

    1Tb WD Black
    Partition 1 (Macintosh HD 3): Timemachine (1000Gb)

    1.5Tb Samsung HDxxx
    Partition 1 (Macintosh HD 4): Videos for streaming to PS3 (1500Gb)

    And then, externally:
    1Tb MyBook Studio
    Partition 1 (Macintosh HD 5): Backups of Macintosh HD 1, 2.1 and 2.2

    500Gb WD USB thingy
    Partition 1 (Macintosh HD 6): Offsite backup of HD 2.1 which is updated from HD 5 when im at home.
     
  4. rickvanr macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #4
    At the moment

    Bay 1: 640GB
    Bay 2: 640GB
    Bay 3: WD 1TB Black
    Bay 4: WD 1TB Black

    1 and 2 came included in with the machine, 3 and 4 were pulled from my G5.
     
  5. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #5
    Bay's...
    1. Intel 160GB G2
    2. WD Caviar Black 2TB
    3. WD Caviar Black 2TB
    4. WD Caviar Black 2TB

    Two SuperDrives in the Optical Bay's.

    I love the 2TB Black's pricey, but outstanding performance.

    EDIT: I use it in my home office. Video's, photo's a bit of everything.
     
  6. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    What about the noise level of those drives? Similar to the 1TB models?
     
  7. GMink macrumors regular

    GMink

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #7
    Just upgraded all of my drives last week

    Old arrangement:

    Bay 1: Seagate 7200.10 400gb Raid 0 OSX and programs
    Bay 2: Seagate 7200.10 400gb Raid 0
    Bay 3: WD Caviar Black 500gb Raid 0 Data Files
    Bay 4: WD Caviar Black 500gb Raid 0

    ODD: WD Caviar Black 750gb - Back up of critical stuff

    New setup: waiting on the Intel SSD to set up

    Bay 1: Intel SSD 160gb OSX/Win7
    Bay 2: Hitachi 2T 2k7000 back up
    Bay 3: WD Caviar Black 1T OSX work files
    Bay 4: WD Caviar Black 1T Win 7 work files

    ODD_1: LG 8X BD
    IDE: new Samsung 22x DVD/RW

    Primary usage is playing solitare
     
  8. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #8
    Bay 1: 80GB X25-M SSD
    Bay 2: 80GB X25-M SSD
    Bay 3: 80GB X25-M SSD
    Bay 4: 1TB WD Black HD

    First three are in RAID0 array for everything. WD Black is for project archiving. Also have a 1TB TC for backups.
     
  9. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #9
    This is what I want. :)

    Bay 1: 160 GB Intel G2
    Bay 2: WD Caviar Black 1 TB
    Bay 3: WD Caviar Green 1 TB (about to be replaced with Seagate 2TB Barracuda)
    Bay 4: WD Caviar Blue 640 GB (time machine)

    My hope is to take the two other WD and get the Caviar Blacks ... in due time.
     
  10. beaker7 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    #10
    Use: 3D and compositing

    Mac Pro 2009; 8 core 2.93Ghz

    Empty Optical Bay: 640 GB factory boot drive
    Bays 1-4: Seagate 7200.12 1TB drives in RAID 0
    External FW800 OWC 1.5 TB Drive: Project Archive
    Drobo FW800 w/ 4x Seagate 1.5 TB 7200.12 drives Time Machine.

    Looking at dropping an SSD RAID array into the optical bay.
     
  11. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #11
    Primary use: CAD/gaming

    Current drive scheme:

    Bay 1: 750 GB - Mac OS X
    Bay 2: 750 GB - TV shows/Movies
    Bay 3: 500 GB - Random stuff
    Bay 4: 250 GB - Windows 7

    I bought two 1.5 TB drives, so when they get here I'll be taking out the 500/250 GB drives and putting Win7 on the other 750 GB disk.
     
  12. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #12
    I consider the 1TB to be fairly quite, the 2TB is comparable. If I have absolutely nothing on, no music, fans, etc. I can barely hear them spin up. Most of the time I have some ambient noise so I can't hear them at all. Of course I could just be losing my hearing in my old age. :)
     
  13. madtown macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #13
    Optical Bay 1: Superdrive

    Optical Bay 2(1): Intel X25 80GB SSD
    Optical Bay 2(2): Intel X25 80GB SSD
    Optical Bay 2(3): Seagate 160GB (2.5")
    Optical Bay 2(4): Seagate 160GB (2.5")

    HD Bay 1: Seagate 7200.11 1TB
    HD Bay 2: Seagate 7200.11 1TB
    HD Bay 3: Seagate 7200.11 1TB
    HD Bay 4: Seagate 7200.11 1TB

    The (2) SSDs are in a RAID 0 setup for my main boot disk, the (2) Seagate 160s are in RAID 0 for Time Machines back-ups and other backups. The (4) Seagate 1TB are in RAID 5.
     
  14. psychometry macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    #14
    I like the idea of having SSDs in a RAID 0 for bootup/apps and HDDs in a separate RAID 0 for file storage. For those of you who are doing that, do you find having multiple RAID setups is rather taxing on the processors? Anyone using hardware RAID to do the same thing?
     
  15. Denarius macrumors 6502a

    Denarius

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    Gironde, France
    #15
    Primarily used for video editing.

    Bay 1: 320GB
    Bay 2: 500GB
    Bays 3 and 4: 1.5TB software RAID 1
    FW800 LaCie Big Disk extreme 500GB RAID 0 as scratch disk.
     
  16. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    All my three arrays are software based. Since I only use striped sets of 2 drives and don't exceed the ICH10's limit of 660MB/s, software is fine and doesn't tax the processors at all.
    (Well of course software based RAIDs do, but not to an extend that you'd notice it on today's machines).
     
  17. fxdxt macrumors newbie

    fxdxt

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #17
    Use: NX2, LR, Aperture 3 trial.

    Optical Bay 1: empty.
    Optical Bay 2: 2 Intel X25 80GB SSD RAID 0, boot and apps.

    Bay 1: 300Gb Velociraptor, Partition 1 boot clone. Partition 2 boot camp.

    Bay 2, 3, 4, (3) 1TB WD RE3 RAID 0 for data.

    Lacie 5big 5TB in RAID 6 for data backup and a 2 TB TC.
     
  18. Maxian macrumors newbie

    Maxian

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Italy
    #18
    Bay 1: Intel SSD 80GB G2 OSX and Applications

    Bay 2: Apple HD 320GB Time Machine

    Bay 3: Seagate BarracudaST3 1TB Raid 0 Storage

    Bay 4: Seagate BarracudaST3 1TB Raid 0 Storage

    Firewire 800: WD MyBook Studio 750GB Backups
     
  19. cvelezv macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    #19
    Drive setup

    I'm preparing for the kind of setup listed above, madtown, could you tell me what SATA card did you use to connect the 4 drives on the optical bay?

    Current setup
    2nd optical Bay WD velociraptor
    Bays 1-4 4 1.5 TB drives on RAID0
    Esata RAID1 array on PM using Rocket raid 2314
    Usage music & video editing
     
  20. kellen macrumors 68020

    kellen

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #20
    Drive 1: WD Black 640 raid 0
    Drive 2: WD Black 640 raid 0
    Drive 3: Stock 320 seagate (?) for windows
    Drive 4: Seagate 1.5 TB for storage (aperture, movies)

    External in a OWC dual 3.5 esata connection to the extra 08 sata ports:
    Drive 1: 500GB seagate for backup of movie storage and a backup of important items on the 1.5TB in drive 4.
    Drive 2: 1TB Seagate, split 500GB/500GB. One is a time machine for the mac pro, one is a time machine for my macbook pro.

    Time machine is great for my macbook pro. I just use the extra ethernet attachment from my MP, mount the hard drive on my MBP and back up is super fast.
     
  21. madtown macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #21
    The drives in the optical bay are connected directly to the logic board using a miniSAS (SFF-8087) => 4 x SATA. The internal bays are connected to an Apple RAID card.
     
  22. iimpact macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    #22
    does anyone know if the mac pro 1,1 can exceed over 2TB internally ?

    according to everymac.. (The original Mac Pro Quad 2.66 formally supports a total capacity of 2 TB)
     
  23. eemzah macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Location:
    Singapore
    #23
    Bay 1: WD 640GB (Main Drive)
    Bay 2: WD 1TB Caviar Black (Work)
    Bay 3: WD 1TB Caviar Green (Time Machine)
    Bay 4: Blank (Sometimes BootCamp)
     
  24. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #24
    The say that because 500 GB hard drives were the largest Apple offered when the 2006 Mac Pro was released. You can stick any size of SATA drive in your Mac Pro and it'll work. I've got 2 TB right now, but will have 4.5 TB this Thursday. :)
     
  25. ncc1701d macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #25
    I thought, from this thread - http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=758672 that it wasn't possible to connect two ssd's in the 2nd OB (let alone 4 drives altogether!). If I could raid two X25-M 160 GB together in my 2nd OB for boot and apps and keep the other 4 bays for storage, I'd be very happy. Can you give a quick explanation how you guys did it? (I have an '09 Mac Pro, if that makes any difference?)
     

Share This Page