State your mac pro's drive set-up

student_trap

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Mar 14, 2005
1,879
0
'Ol Smokey, UK
hey all,

Thought this might be an interesting thing to do.

State the way your dives are set-up, and your primary use for the mac pro.


Mine is as follows:

Primary Use: Photoshop

Bay 1: 1TB WD Caviar Black in RAID 0 for everything
Bay 2: 1TB WD Caviar Black in RAID 0 for everything
Bay 3: 1TB Samsung F1 for backup
Bay 4: soon to be a scratch drive

Cheers all!
 

Transporteur

macrumors 68030
Nov 30, 2008
2,729
3
UK
Primary use: Software development

System drive + VM's
ODD Bay 2: 160GB Intel G2

Array for misc stuff, downloads and so
ODD Bay 2: 320GB WD Black RAID0
ODD Bay 2: 320GB WD BLack RAID0

Array for more VM's + shared folders for VM's
Bay 1: 1TB WD Black RAID0
Bay 2: 1TB WD Black RAID0

Array for multimedia data like iTunes
Bay 3: 1.5TB WD Green RAID0
Bay 4: 1.5TB WD Green RAID0

Backup, Bootcamp and data all external via FireWire or NAS.
 

Inconsequential

macrumors 68000
Sep 12, 2007
1,977
1
Copied and pasted from your other thread:

Internally:
300Gb Velociraptor
Partition 1 (Macintosh HD 1): OS X + Lightroom Library
Partition 2: Windows 7 Bootcamp

1Tb WD Black
Partition 1 (Macintosh HD 2.1): Photo library (550Gb)
Partition 2 (Macintosh HD 2.2): Home folder (450Gb) (Music, documents, etc).

1Tb WD Black
Partition 1 (Macintosh HD 3): Timemachine (1000Gb)

1.5Tb Samsung HDxxx
Partition 1 (Macintosh HD 4): Videos for streaming to PS3 (1500Gb)

And then, externally:
1Tb MyBook Studio
Partition 1 (Macintosh HD 5): Backups of Macintosh HD 1, 2.1 and 2.2

500Gb WD USB thingy
Partition 1 (Macintosh HD 6): Offsite backup of HD 2.1 which is updated from HD 5 when im at home.
 

rickvanr

macrumors 68040
Apr 10, 2002
3,256
11
Brockville
At the moment

Bay 1: 640GB
Bay 2: 640GB
Bay 3: WD 1TB Black
Bay 4: WD 1TB Black

1 and 2 came included in with the machine, 3 and 4 were pulled from my G5.
 

Cynicalone

macrumors 68040
Jul 9, 2008
3,209
0
Okie land
Bay's...
  1. Intel 160GB G2
  2. WD Caviar Black 2TB
  3. WD Caviar Black 2TB
  4. WD Caviar Black 2TB

Two SuperDrives in the Optical Bay's.

I love the 2TB Black's pricey, but outstanding performance.

EDIT: I use it in my home office. Video's, photo's a bit of everything.
 

GMink

macrumors regular
Feb 10, 2010
135
0
Just upgraded all of my drives last week

Old arrangement:

Bay 1: Seagate 7200.10 400gb Raid 0 OSX and programs
Bay 2: Seagate 7200.10 400gb Raid 0
Bay 3: WD Caviar Black 500gb Raid 0 Data Files
Bay 4: WD Caviar Black 500gb Raid 0

ODD: WD Caviar Black 750gb - Back up of critical stuff

New setup: waiting on the Intel SSD to set up

Bay 1: Intel SSD 160gb OSX/Win7
Bay 2: Hitachi 2T 2k7000 back up
Bay 3: WD Caviar Black 1T OSX work files
Bay 4: WD Caviar Black 1T Win 7 work files

ODD_1: LG 8X BD
IDE: new Samsung 22x DVD/RW

Primary usage is playing solitare
 

VirtualRain

macrumors 603
Aug 1, 2008
6,304
114
Vancouver, BC
Bay 1: 80GB X25-M SSD
Bay 2: 80GB X25-M SSD
Bay 3: 80GB X25-M SSD
Bay 4: 1TB WD Black HD

First three are in RAID0 array for everything. WD Black is for project archiving. Also have a 1TB TC for backups.
 

GoCubsGo

macrumors Nehalem
Feb 19, 2005
35,743
141
Bay's...
  1. Intel 160GB G2
  2. WD Caviar Black 2TB
  3. WD Caviar Black 2TB
  4. WD Caviar Black 2TB

Two SuperDrives in the Optical Bay's.

I love the 2TB Black's pricey, but outstanding performance.

EDIT: I use it in my home office. Video's, photo's a bit of everything.
This is what I want. :)

Bay 1: 160 GB Intel G2
Bay 2: WD Caviar Black 1 TB
Bay 3: WD Caviar Green 1 TB (about to be replaced with Seagate 2TB Barracuda)
Bay 4: WD Caviar Blue 640 GB (time machine)

My hope is to take the two other WD and get the Caviar Blacks ... in due time.
 

beaker7

macrumors 6502a
Mar 16, 2009
895
1,727
Use: 3D and compositing

Mac Pro 2009; 8 core 2.93Ghz

Empty Optical Bay: 640 GB factory boot drive
Bays 1-4: Seagate 7200.12 1TB drives in RAID 0
External FW800 OWC 1.5 TB Drive: Project Archive
Drobo FW800 w/ 4x Seagate 1.5 TB 7200.12 drives Time Machine.

Looking at dropping an SSD RAID array into the optical bay.
 

Mackilroy

macrumors 68040
Jun 29, 2006
3,614
58
Primary use: CAD/gaming

Current drive scheme:

Bay 1: 750 GB - Mac OS X
Bay 2: 750 GB - TV shows/Movies
Bay 3: 500 GB - Random stuff
Bay 4: 250 GB - Windows 7

I bought two 1.5 TB drives, so when they get here I'll be taking out the 500/250 GB drives and putting Win7 on the other 750 GB disk.
 

Cynicalone

macrumors 68040
Jul 9, 2008
3,209
0
Okie land
What about the noise level of those drives? Similar to the 1TB models?
I consider the 1TB to be fairly quite, the 2TB is comparable. If I have absolutely nothing on, no music, fans, etc. I can barely hear them spin up. Most of the time I have some ambient noise so I can't hear them at all. Of course I could just be losing my hearing in my old age. :)
 

madtown

macrumors newbie
Jun 26, 2007
19
0
Optical Bay 1: Superdrive

Optical Bay 2(1): Intel X25 80GB SSD
Optical Bay 2(2): Intel X25 80GB SSD
Optical Bay 2(3): Seagate 160GB (2.5")
Optical Bay 2(4): Seagate 160GB (2.5")

HD Bay 1: Seagate 7200.11 1TB
HD Bay 2: Seagate 7200.11 1TB
HD Bay 3: Seagate 7200.11 1TB
HD Bay 4: Seagate 7200.11 1TB

The (2) SSDs are in a RAID 0 setup for my main boot disk, the (2) Seagate 160s are in RAID 0 for Time Machines back-ups and other backups. The (4) Seagate 1TB are in RAID 5.
 

psychometry

macrumors regular
Oct 5, 2006
123
0
I like the idea of having SSDs in a RAID 0 for bootup/apps and HDDs in a separate RAID 0 for file storage. For those of you who are doing that, do you find having multiple RAID setups is rather taxing on the processors? Anyone using hardware RAID to do the same thing?
 

Denarius

macrumors 6502a
Feb 5, 2008
690
0
Gironde, France
Primarily used for video editing.

Bay 1: 320GB
Bay 2: 500GB
Bays 3 and 4: 1.5TB software RAID 1
FW800 LaCie Big Disk extreme 500GB RAID 0 as scratch disk.
 

Transporteur

macrumors 68030
Nov 30, 2008
2,729
3
UK
For those of you who are doing that, do you find having multiple RAID setups is rather taxing on the processors?
All my three arrays are software based. Since I only use striped sets of 2 drives and don't exceed the ICH10's limit of 660MB/s, software is fine and doesn't tax the processors at all.
(Well of course software based RAIDs do, but not to an extend that you'd notice it on today's machines).
 

fxdxt

macrumors newbie
Jul 2, 2009
15
14
Oregon
Use: NX2, LR, Aperture 3 trial.

Optical Bay 1: empty.
Optical Bay 2: 2 Intel X25 80GB SSD RAID 0, boot and apps.

Bay 1: 300Gb Velociraptor, Partition 1 boot clone. Partition 2 boot camp.

Bay 2, 3, 4, (3) 1TB WD RE3 RAID 0 for data.

Lacie 5big 5TB in RAID 6 for data backup and a 2 TB TC.
 

Maxian

macrumors newbie
Jul 28, 2008
8
0
Italy
Bay 1: Intel SSD 80GB G2 OSX and Applications

Bay 2: Apple HD 320GB Time Machine

Bay 3: Seagate BarracudaST3 1TB Raid 0 Storage

Bay 4: Seagate BarracudaST3 1TB Raid 0 Storage

Firewire 800: WD MyBook Studio 750GB Backups
 

cvelezv

macrumors newbie
Apr 14, 2009
19
0
Drive setup

Optical Bay 1: Superdrive

Optical Bay 2(1): Intel X25 80GB SSD
Optical Bay 2(2): Intel X25 80GB SSD
Optical Bay 2(3): Seagate 160GB (2.5")
Optical Bay 2(4): Seagate 160GB (2.5")

HD Bay 1: Seagate 7200.11 1TB
HD Bay 2: Seagate 7200.11 1TB
HD Bay 3: Seagate 7200.11 1TB
HD Bay 4: Seagate 7200.11 1TB

The (2) SSDs are in a RAID 0 setup for my main boot disk, the (2) Seagate 160s are in RAID 0 for Time Machines back-ups and other backups. The (4) Seagate 1TB are in RAID 5.
I'm preparing for the kind of setup listed above, madtown, could you tell me what SATA card did you use to connect the 4 drives on the optical bay?

Current setup
2nd optical Bay WD velociraptor
Bays 1-4 4 1.5 TB drives on RAID0
Esata RAID1 array on PM using Rocket raid 2314
Usage music & video editing
 

kellen

macrumors 68020
Aug 11, 2006
2,362
55
Seattle, WA
Drive 1: WD Black 640 raid 0
Drive 2: WD Black 640 raid 0
Drive 3: Stock 320 seagate (?) for windows
Drive 4: Seagate 1.5 TB for storage (aperture, movies)

External in a OWC dual 3.5 esata connection to the extra 08 sata ports:
Drive 1: 500GB seagate for backup of movie storage and a backup of important items on the 1.5TB in drive 4.
Drive 2: 1TB Seagate, split 500GB/500GB. One is a time machine for the mac pro, one is a time machine for my macbook pro.

Time machine is great for my macbook pro. I just use the extra ethernet attachment from my MP, mount the hard drive on my MBP and back up is super fast.
 

madtown

macrumors newbie
Jun 26, 2007
19
0
I'm preparing for the kind of setup listed above, madtown, could you tell me what SATA card did you use to connect the 4 drives on the optical bay?

Current setup
2nd optical Bay WD velociraptor
Bays 1-4 4 1.5 TB drives on RAID0
Esata RAID1 array on PM using Rocket raid 2314
Usage music & video editing
The drives in the optical bay are connected directly to the logic board using a miniSAS (SFF-8087) => 4 x SATA. The internal bays are connected to an Apple RAID card.
 

iimpact

macrumors newbie
Feb 22, 2010
16
0
does anyone know if the mac pro 1,1 can exceed over 2TB internally ?

according to everymac.. (The original Mac Pro Quad 2.66 formally supports a total capacity of 2 TB)
 

eemzah

macrumors member
Nov 11, 2009
57
0
Singapore
Bay 1: WD 640GB (Main Drive)
Bay 2: WD 1TB Caviar Black (Work)
Bay 3: WD 1TB Caviar Green (Time Machine)
Bay 4: Blank (Sometimes BootCamp)
 

Mackilroy

macrumors 68040
Jun 29, 2006
3,614
58
does anyone know if the mac pro 1,1 can exceed over 2TB internally ?

according to everymac.. (The original Mac Pro Quad 2.66 formally supports a total capacity of 2 TB)
The say that because 500 GB hard drives were the largest Apple offered when the 2006 Mac Pro was released. You can stick any size of SATA drive in your Mac Pro and it'll work. I've got 2 TB right now, but will have 4.5 TB this Thursday. :)
 

ncc1701d

macrumors 6502
Mar 30, 2008
382
45
Primary use: Software development

System drive + VM's
ODD Bay 2: 160GB Intel G2

Array for misc stuff, downloads and so
ODD Bay 2: 320GB WD Black RAID0
ODD Bay 2: 320GB WD BLack RAID0

Array for more VM's + shared folders for VM's
Bay 1: 1TB WD Black RAID0
Bay 2: 1TB WD Black RAID0

Array for multimedia data like iTunes
Bay 3: 1.5TB WD Green RAID0
Bay 4: 1.5TB WD Green RAID0

Backup, Bootcamp and data all external via FireWire or NAS.
Optical Bay 1: Superdrive

Optical Bay 2(1): Intel X25 80GB SSD
Optical Bay 2(2): Intel X25 80GB SSD
Optical Bay 2(3): Seagate 160GB (2.5")
Optical Bay 2(4): Seagate 160GB (2.5")

HD Bay 1: Seagate 7200.11 1TB
HD Bay 2: Seagate 7200.11 1TB
HD Bay 3: Seagate 7200.11 1TB
HD Bay 4: Seagate 7200.11 1TB

The (2) SSDs are in a RAID 0 setup for my main boot disk, the (2) Seagate 160s are in RAID 0 for Time Machines back-ups and other backups. The (4) Seagate 1TB are in RAID 5.
I thought, from this thread - http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=758672 that it wasn't possible to connect two ssd's in the 2nd OB (let alone 4 drives altogether!). If I could raid two X25-M 160 GB together in my 2nd OB for boot and apps and keep the other 4 bays for storage, I'd be very happy. Can you give a quick explanation how you guys did it? (I have an '09 Mac Pro, if that makes any difference?)