Static IP for printer on a DHCP network?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by OrganMusic, Sep 27, 2009.

  1. OrganMusic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #1
    So I have a small network that includes a Richo 1027 -- an older office copier/printer. The printer works fine when set to DHCP, but when I try to set it to a static ip, even one outside the DHCP range (as per this helpful document) it doesn't work. I can't even ping it.

    I'm thinking this may be a problem with the printer itself or a limitation of the router, but I'd like to find a solution.

    Also, curiously if i use the official ricoh drivers it just prints garbage pages. On advice from somewhere on the interwebs I tried using the HP LaserJet 5 driver and that seems to work fine, though I think it can't control some of the paper handling functions. I think this may be because the printer lacks the optional PostScript card.

    Edit: the router is a networkeverywhere NR041
     
  2. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #2
    What router is it? Are u just assigning an ip or are u including the subnet prefix aswell?
     
  3. OrganMusic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #3
    I tried a number of different ips on the printer.

    Router DHCP config says range starts at 192.168.000.100, so I tried 192.168.002.001 and 192.168.000.002 and a couple others.

    I keyed in the 255.255.255.0 for subnet and 192.168.0.1 for gateway on the printer.
     
  4. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #4
    If it does start at 192.168.0.100 then the next ip would be 192.169.0.101

    try the following

    192.168.0.199
    255.255.255.0
     
  5. OrganMusic thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #5
    I thought .0.2 would work since it's definately below the dhcp
    range. Of course this is all made harder by the fact that neither the printer nor the router provide much in the way of diagnostics.

    Maybe I'll try different static ips on the computer to
    get a better feel for how the router handles it.
     
  6. RandomKamikaze macrumors 6502a

    RandomKamikaze

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Right, 192.168.2.1 didn't work because it's on a different subnet, so unless you stick a router on there between the two networks it won't work.

    You basically need an IP off your current range. 192.168.0.100 is the network address and because you are using 255.255.255.0 which is a 24-bit subnet, you have got 154 useable addresses. 192.168.0.100 is the network address and 192.168.1.255 is the broadcast address. These can't be used.

    Like Gav2k suggests, use 192.168.0.199 with a mask of 255.255.255.0 and a default gateway of 192.168.0.1 (assuming that is the gateway) What IP configuration does your computer have?

    I would suggest setting a reservation in the DHCP scope
     

Share This Page