Status of Aperture in Sierra?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by rick3000, Oct 4, 2016.

?

Experience with Aperture in MacOS Sierra?

  1. No issues

    4 vote(s)
    57.1%
  2. Some issues; nothing major (same as El Capitan)

    3 vote(s)
    42.9%
  3. Lots of Issues

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Unusable in Sierra

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. rick3000 macrumors 6502a

    rick3000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Coast
    #1
    I would like to upgrade to Sierra next week, but I am still in the process of transitioning out of Aperture. I have seen conflicting reports about Aperture running properly in Sierra, some say it works fine, others appear to be having issues. I would like to know if I should avoid updating to Sierra until I finish moving out of Aperture.
    Thanks!
     
  2. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #2
    Why would you risk the move if you are "in the processing out of Aperture"? Take one step at a time to keep things simple. Move to the new app....make sure it does run on Sierra without problem....then move to Sierra.
     
  3. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #3
    You should avoid moving to Sierra until your Aperture move is completed (don't care whether Aperture works in Sierra or not, moving to Sierra will not possibly improve the migration from Aperture but would place it at risk)
     
  4. kenoh macrumors demi-god

    kenoh

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
  5. robgendreau macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #5
    The poll is pointless; sorry.

    Fewer people are still using Aperture, and many of those are limping along with older systems and hardware. So you've got a sample size issue; on Apple's discussion boards there are no longer many posts on Aperture and they are all over the place in regards to usability.

    Install Sierra on a cloned external and test; it's the only way YOU are going to know if it works.
     

Share This Page