Steam (Crossover) Not working

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by thefireboy, Feb 2, 2009.

  1. thefireboy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Location:
    Wales
    #1
    So i installed Crossover today and Steam followed as a ton of friedsn recommended it.
    So i can't install any games from the Store.
    One of my mates who has a PC googled it and found out that after some updates loats of Mac users were having the same problem and the work around is to go on the store on Firefox.
    I thought great i can still play. But when i do try this even with steam closed it says "Steam is not a registered protocol."
    Please help i really want this to work!
    And does the Dawn Of War 2 Beta work on Steam with Crossover?
    Cheers
    Jake
     
  2. aluminumapple macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    #2
    your going to have to mail them or post some kind of forum on crossover.
    other than that most people here wont be able to answer your question : S.
     
  3. thefireboy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Location:
    Wales
  4. Foop macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #4
    Please post the work around details. I was planning on installing steam myself.
     
  5. thefireboy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Location:
    Wales
    #5
    right well once you install steam you need to download Firefox 3 for Windows.
    Install this IN THE SAME BOTTLE as Steam.
    Then go to programs, mozilla firefox and run it
    then use that to go on the steam website and buy and download from there it'll then use steam to download it almost automatically.
    HTH
    Jake
     
  6. erifneerg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    #6
    yea, the codeweaver guys talked about that problem over on there boards. They have a problme with there html render engine. I don't get why they don't use Gecko like Darwine does or something else (Omniweb/Webkit).
    I also don't get why there hasn't been an update for Crossover Games in months. Crossover games is suppost to use bleeding edge wine but i haven't heard anything about it.
     
  7. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #7
    If I have the the orange box on dvd, can I just install HL2 via dvd into same bottle as where steam is and it'll work? I don't really mind going into boot camp to run it but if I could do it natively and it runs just as well, then I'd be down.
     
  8. erifneerg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    #8
    assuming u haven't tried it out yet, yes, you can do that. Just run the normal crossover install in that same bottle. I believe i did that once too. It's normal to have problems geting the disc out to place the second one in. there a terminal command that can fix the problem if it comes up.
     
  9. Trip.Tucker Guest

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #9
    Surprise! A few can! :D
     
  10. Trip.Tucker Guest

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #10
    You can, I installed Steam first on it's own in a bottle. Then used Steam to download HL1 once I had my account pulled up. After, I installed from HL2 from DVD (mainly due to the size) in the same bottle.

    Works fine. :)

    I'll see you in DOD:S .... or NS ;)
     

Share This Page