steam cs 1.6

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by smoldik, Mar 15, 2011.

  1. smoldik macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    #1
    Is it possible to play CS 1.6 on Steam without a need to do this on a boot camp? I will have new macbook pro 13" this week and i would like to play this game but i dont wanna to restart computer every time and boot windows. Is it possible to play this via parallels or something like that with 100fps stable? I am new to Macs so please be patient with me. Thanks
     
  2. jabbawok macrumors regular

    jabbawok

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    #2
    CS 1.6: Nope, not natively, just CS Source.
    I did have 1.6 running nicely on crossover though.
     
  3. smoldik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    #3
    is it possible to reach 100fps via crossover on new mbp13?
     
  4. ddehr026 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    #4
    Why do you "need" to reach 100fps? 1.6 is perfectly playable at 50-75 fps.
     
  5. smoldik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    #5
    How come that i have very unstable fps under boot camp while playing? I have 40 - 80 fps when i see 4+ players in open environments like de_train etc. Or when HE grenade explodes it drops down to 30 fps. I setted up graphics in windows to performance and there is no positive change after this step. I tried to play via crossover and i have very stable fps but there are other reasons why i can't play it via crossover. Do you have any ideas how to improve my performance under boot camp? Thanks. My model is 2011 MBP 13".
     
  6. ddehr026 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    #6
    Update your gfx drivers. What video card is in your mac?
     
  7. smoldik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    #7
    intel hd 3000. I've installed some update, but no difference.
     
  8. ddehr026 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
  9. smoldik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
  10. Zeov, Apr 2, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2011

    Zeov macrumors 6502a

    Zeov

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Odense
    #10
    CS 1.6 has to be played at 100 fps, end of discussion.


    EDIT: best way to play is 800x600 or the resolution lower than that, most professionals use this resolution.
     
  11. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #11
    ...you're going to see a FPS drop because a grenade exploding is graphically intensive? I'm not sure why this is a surprise.

    I'm not sure specifically why your framearate is what it is, besides Intel Integrated graphics not really being for gamers. Your FPS is still plenty reasonable though.
     

Share This Page