Stepping into Mac Pro land, opinions and advice on spec please

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by tmccambridge, Jun 28, 2008.

1. tmccambridge macrumors newbie

Hiya

Ok well i've decided to finally go down the mac pro route as it seems to be the best all-round option for the work I do etc.

I've just specced up the following, I am a media designer/developer so will be using CS3, After Effects, Final Cut studio and intend to have a Dual boot with Windows so I can run 3DS max. I also intend to put my own RAM in, hence is not listed in the spec below as I would like to ask what would people recommend is a good amount of RAM to compliment this machine given the software I intend to be using? I was thinking 8GB should be ok but some people are telling me to go the whole hog and put 16 in...?

Anyway, and opinions and advice is very much welcome.

Mac Pro
    Part Number: Z0EM
    2GB (2x1GB) 065-7175
    Apple Wireless Mighty Mouse 065-7694
    NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 512MB GDDR3 065-7537
    One 16x SuperDrive 065-7203
    Apple Keyboard & Mac OS 065-7707
    Two 3.0GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 065-7534
    1TB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/s 065-7193
    500GB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/s 065-7195
    Country kit 065-7220
    AirPort Extreme Card (Wi-Fi) 065-7206

Finally, I also intend to run an Apple 30" Cinema display with this, with the intention of possibly upgrading to a secondary display in the near future.

Thanks in advance

Tom

2. hugodrax macrumors 6502a