Sticking with Tiger?

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by macker75, Oct 21, 2008.

  1. macker75 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #1
    Hello,

    This seemed like the most appropriate place for my question. Sorry if it is incorrect to post it here.

    I want to get into development for the iPhone. I downloaded the iPhone SDK kit but unfortunately it looks like you need Leopard. I've used leopard and I must say for the time being I'd like to stick with Tiger. Just personal preference.

    Is there any way to use both on the same machine? I thought maybe I could use parallels to install a leopard, but it looks like that isn't allowed. Does the bootcamp which runs on tiger allow you to install leopard?

    Any suggestions that would let me keep my current tiger installation but also install new leopard would be appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #2
    i think this may work though not 100% sure


    go to disk utility and create another partition to install leopard

    keep in mind, that when doing this, all the data on your tiger install will be erased so be sure to back it up via superduper or carbon copy cloner

    im not sure how you would be able to set the boot disk other than having to manually go to system prefs-startup disk each and every time


    may want to wait for a second opinion before you do this though

    have a look here
    http://www.fluther.com/disc/4011/leopard-and-tiger-on-the-same-machine/
     
  3. toddburch macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Location:
    Katy, Texas
    #3
    I took the lazy man's approach and just bought a 1TB harddrive ($183 delivered from CDW) and installed Leopard on that. The boot drive can be set in preferences.

    So, as it is now, like I told my father-in-law in terms he could understand, I now have 1,500 GB of disk storage.
     
  4. foidulus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    #4
    As long as your are partitioning off free space, you do NOT have to erase your data with disk utility. They have a cool little gui, just boot off the Leopard DVD and instead of going through the normal install process, click the utilities menu item(at the top of course!) and go to Disk Utility. Click the drive(not the partition) and click the "partition" button.

    You will see one giant partition there. Don't click the drop-down box on the right, but instead click the little "+" button and adjust the sliders until you are happy with the relative sizes. Then give it a name, make sure to format it as HFS+ and then go through the Leopard install process making sure to choose your new drive as the destination. I've done this plenty of times at work, so I know it works.

    However, a backup of your critical data is never a bad idea!.
     
  5. macker75 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #5
    Thanks! This sounds like what I need to do.

    How do you choose between OS's at bootup after doing this? Does it automatically come up with a screen to let you select which one you want to boot with once there are different Mac OS's installed on two partitions?
     
  6. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #6
    in the link i provided, someone posted to hold option when booting.
     

Share This Page