STILL looking for best VNC client for ipad ...

Discussion in 'iPad Apps' started by eroxx, Mar 3, 2011.

  1. eroxx macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #1
    I REALLY like screens except:
    it doesn't change to native ipad resolution
    and it doesn't have sound (not a must, but certainly nice)

    Splashtop is amazing, but it only works on a wi-fi network. It converts to native ipad resolution AND has sound.

    Any solutions??? Thanks!!!
     
  2. EmmEff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #2
    If I understand what you mean by this, no VNC client will be able to set the screen resolution. This is done on the server side. If you want a 1024x768 screen (native iPad resolution), you have to configure VNC on the server side to share a 1024x768 desktop.

    The VNC protocol doesn't offer sound.
     
  3. eroxx thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #3
    I don't care if it's VNC or not, but something that will share the screen in that resolution ...?
     
  4. EmmEff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #4
    RDP (the protocol used by Windows Desktop sharing) allows the client to set the shared screen resolution. There are RDP clients for the iPad, but I don't know which ones are good.
     
  5. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #5
    Have you looked into TeamViewer? iPhone/pod app is nice and runs great over 3G. Haven't tried sound on it though.
     
  6. EmmEff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #6
    There is TeamViewer, GoToMyPC and LogMeIn which offer remote desktop sharing using their own protocol, but I am not sure if any of them allow for adjusting the screen resolution on the client side.
     
  7. eroxx thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #7
    So there's no way to get to your imac screen from the ipad using the ipad native resolution?
     
  8. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #8
    I don't have an iPad yet. (Next week :-D) But I looked online at the available apps and here's the Teamviewer features.

    Features:
    -----------------------------
    - Remotely access unattended computers
    - Conveniently control remote computers using the iPhone multi-touch gestures: left click, right click, drag & drop, scroll wheel, zoom, change monitor
    - Complete keyboard control incl. special keys such as Ctrl, Alt, Windows®
    - Remotely reboot the computer
    - Automatically adjust the screen resolution of the remote computer
    - Overview of computers that are online via the integrated Partner list
    - Effortlessly access computers behind firewalls and proxy servers
    - Meets highest security standards: 256 Bit AES Session Encoding, 1024 Bit RSA Key Exchange
    - The Free version of TeamViewer has exactly the same features as the Pro HD version. However, the license of the Free version is intended for private use only

    I think the bolded one is the one that would do what you're asking. It'll change the remote computer to make it readable on the iPad natively (I hope)
     
  9. EmmEff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #9
    I am running TeamViewer as I type this message... it will scale the remote display to fit on the iPad display. For connecting to my MBP, 1440x900 scales pretty nicely. The experience when scaling the native res of an iMac 27", for example, would be much different.
     
  10. Durious macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
  11. EmmEff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #11
    What do you do with iTeleport and your iMac 27" that works beautifully?
     
  12. StuartL macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    I use Remoter and am very impressed with it, but only used it within a local network so far.
     
  13. vandal138 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    #13
    i second iTeleport. I've been using it lots on my iphone and I plan on putting it onto my ipad tonight.
    it doesnt support sound though, I haven't seen an VNC app that has.
     
  14. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #14
    I've been pretty happy with Screens by Edovia. A little pricey, but a very nice interface and it works well. I wish it had SSH certificate authentication now, but I believe it is on the roadmap for a future release.
     
  15. cathexist macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    #15
    I haven't used it on the iPad yet, but LogMeIn has always been my choice. I've used it on the iPhone and I'm hopefully getting and iPad tomorrow so I'll be testing it out.
     
  16. StructAural macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #16
    I third iTeleport. I use it on an iphone 4, my GPU recently blew-up on my Mac Pro desktop and this has been a lifesaver when I can't get my gf's laptop off of her.
     
  17. WesCole macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #17
    +1

    LogMeIn has never let me down on either my iPhone or iPad.
     
  18. StructAural macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #18
    I think iTeleport has the slight edge, it's cheaper, supports a standard protocol with free client side server (meaning you can use it for PC, Linux and Mac and any other platform with a VNC Server), has more gestures and music controls.
     
  19. newdeal macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    #19
    ...

    I like teleport but wyse pocket cloud is free and almost as good
     
  20. eroxx thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #20
    Is there ANY way to chance the resolution of a VNC client?

    I'm using VNC clients with my ipad and would like them to display in the native ipad resolution. Is there any app for the MAC that will change the VNC resolution to something I specify??
     
  21. EmmEff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #21
    No, there is not.

    Remember my post in reply to the first time you asked?

    There is no support in the VNC protocol for the client to configure the display resolution.
     
  22. eroxx thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #22
    But is there a workaround on the server side so that when a client logs in, the server changes the host resolution?
     
  23. eroxx thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #24
    I guess my next question is: Is there a screen-sharing platform that doesnt use VNC?
     
  24. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #25
    With OSX servers? I can't think of any. Maybe Citrix (costs). Why don't you just change the resolution when you've logged in? That's what you want the server to do anyway.
     

Share This Page