still no control over airport express through frontrow?

Discussion in 'iPod' started by Keebler, Feb 12, 2008.

  1. Keebler macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Hi,

    Now that the 10.5.2 has been released, i thought i would check to see if there is any luck getting frontrow to send music to the aiport express with airtunes?

    i could access my library, but could only send my music to my macbook pro instead of the speakers upstairs.

    me thinks they're not going to fix this b/c it forces ppl to buy the appletv?
     
  2. Passante macrumors 6502a

    Passante

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    on the sofa
    #2
    I wish Apple TV would stream music to my AE. Its great that I have all my music in my family room but it would be great if I could stream it to another room. Most of the time I don't listen to music standing in one place.
     
  3. Thanatoast macrumors 6502a

    Thanatoast

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Location:
    Denver
    #3
    I send music to my airtunes... you just have to change the speaker output on itunes (bottom right) before you access frontrow.
     
  4. Keebler thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    sorry...i completely forgot one important criteria:

    from a macbook pro (or another mac) sharing the itunes library (or accessing the original library on another mac).

    won't work that way...at least I can't get it to go.

    i can access it and listen to it on my mbpro, but even with directing the speakers in itunes to the upstairs speakers...it's a no go.
     
  5. Thanatoast macrumors 6502a

    Thanatoast

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Location:
    Denver
    #5
    Ok, so I tried connecting to my iMac from my wife's Macbook while her iTunes was set to connect to airtunes. At first I got a "toast's computer is not sharing songs at this time", so I went back to my iMac to double-check. My sharing was okay, which confused me, so I tried it again and was able to stream from my iMac to airtunes through my macbook. (emphasis added for clarity)
     
  6. Keebler thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    and this was using frontrow? i can get it to stream regularly, but not using front row on mbp. i can use frontrow and access the imac library, but it only plays on the mbro speakers..i can't send it to the airtunes - even with pre-setting the speakers on the mbp's itunes.
     
  7. Thanatoast macrumors 6502a

    Thanatoast

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Location:
    Denver
    #7
    yep, using frontrow, by the remote. OSX 10.4.11, iTunes 7.6

    just double checked, and it still works. sorry i don't have anything more to help...
     
  8. Keebler thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    no apologies necessary :) thanks for the clarification. I'll keep at 'er. would love to get this to work! :)
     
  9. deefsound macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    #9
    Hi. I don't mean to butt in but I notice that one of you is on 10.4 and Keebler is on 10.5. If I have picked up on that correctly, that would explain why you're having different results. Sorry in advance if I'm telling you stuff you already know.

    Apple in their infinite wisdom have decided that those using 10.5 don't want to listen to music via frontrow (version 2) through wireless speakers. I spent a LOT of time trying to find a solution to this and in short: It's not a bug or glitch. It's the way it is. Fortunately, the wonders of the world wide web and the kind souls who use it often find solutions where those responsible have let us down.

    Here's a link to the solution I used:

    http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1251292&tstart=30

    I know it's a downgrade, but for me I'd rather have the functionality than the latest eye-candy. And so far everything has worked well for me since the downgrade.

    I hope this is of some help.

    Cheers.
     
  10. Keebler thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #10
    thanks for the link. I had actually done this when i had tiger and it was great, but haven't reinstalled it. what a bunch of boneheads. i guess apple wants us to buy the appletv. weird.
     
  11. weg macrumors 6502a

    weg

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    nj
    #11
    Apples opinion on the issue:

    Symptoms

    After updating to Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard, you may be unable to stream audio to AirPort Express Base Stations using Front Row

    Resolution

    Connect speakers directly to your computer in order to play media in Front Row.

    :D So you see, it's not Apple's fault. It's us users, requesting stupid features.

    EDIT: I believe that Apple has removed the feature because of the delay that may occur when streaming audio via AirTunes. Not a nice phenomenon if you're trying to watch a movie...
     

Share This Page