Still play Diablo 2? Care to help a complete newb out?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by whitlecj, Jan 19, 2009.

1. whitlecj macrumors member

I have never played the game until yesterday and just wanted to get some help before really starting my main. I only get to play a few hour a week generally, so I will most likely be sticking with one character primarily. There in lies my question. I would like to have a main that is okay at pve and pvp (if that is possible). In wow and other mmo's, I generally like casting type characters (if that helps). I would like to play my games online, because I liking being part of community. I would welcome any build recommendations and general game play tips if possible. Thanks for any help you can give.

If any of you guys still play on a regular basis and don't mind someone who is clueless about the game, I would love to join you for some games. Then again, maybe everyone has moved on. I am having a little trouble getting over the dated graphics, but from what everyone says, the game is completely worth it.

I toyed with firing up my wow account before buying this game, but given my limited play time, I just didn't know if it would be worth it since all of the people I used to play wow with have quit.

Anyway, any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

2. Lord Blackadder macrumors G5

Lord Blackadder

I haven't fired up Diablo 2 in many months, but have been playing it ever since it was first released (oh dear God, that was about 10 years ago now! :eek:). At first I spent quite a lot of time with that game, but over the last 6 years or so I've only played it in tiny dribs and drabs every now and again.

...but I never really played online much. Too much bad behavior by jerks and trolls.