Stock- real time charting software?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Goofy Yno, Jun 24, 2009.

  1. Goofy Yno macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #1
    Hi,
    I'm new here, and... achem....a PC user.:eek:
    I just bought my wife a Macbook pro, which she likes.
    I need to replace my PC and was sold on a 24" I mac, but.. (U knew there had to be a but...) I actively trade stocks. I currently use a Scottrade elite program for my real time transactions. Unfortunately, this is not supported on mac.

    I like finviz for nightly scans (which works on mac)but still need real time functionality. (I know they have it, but the price seems a little steep for something I get for free now) and really need only minute charts and tickers to still be able to function.

    I may have to stick with a PC, being that most of my computer work is related to stocks (or forums like this ;))
    But I want to get into video editing. so between that and the fewer problems with macs, I wanted to switch.

    anybody with ideas of apps that may fit my situation?

    thanks
     
  2. GregE macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #2
    How about VMWare Fusion to run Windows on your Mac and then run the Scottrade Program in there?
     
  3. Goofy Yno thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #3
    Running window is what I'm trying to avoid. I guess I don't see the point- If I am running windows, why not get a PC instead of dedicating space on a mac?

    Honestly, I'm not that computer savvy. I'm afraid having two systems on my computer would confuse me.
     
  4. Goofy Yno thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #4
    Actually, after looking at VMware Fusion, it just may work.:D

    It doesn't seem to take up a lot of room, it seems easy- just download it, and it will run my Scottrade as if it is part of the mac. Am I correct that the computer will pick the proper os to run the program or will I need to assign it each time?
     
  5. GregE macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #5
    You wouldn't assign it each time you would install the Scottrade software in the Windows environment.
     
  6. Goofy Yno thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #6
    Thanks,
    I think I'm off to the Apple store this weekend!:D
     

Share This Page