Stock WD 320GB adequate for CS3 scratch disk?

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by czardonic, Apr 9, 2008.

1. czardonic macrumors member

Actually, I am contemplating using an 80-100 GB first partition of the WDC WD3200AAJS.

I'm a designer moving from a Sawtooth to the Mac Pro 2008, so it's all lightning fast to me, even without a second drive yet installed.

The second drive is a 750GB Samsung F1, for what its worth.

Of course, my main concerns are Photoshop and Illustrator.

All suggestions appreciated.
    Thanks

2. snickelfritz macrumors 65816

snickelfritz

Disk partitions don't offer much performance benefit on the second drive unless the remaining space used purely for storage, and not for active work files.
    The performance benefits of locating the scratch files on the first partition of a second drive are negligible when compared to the main benefit of multithreaded disk access.

The key to scratch disk performance is the use of a dedicated drive and controller. This allows the OS (on drive 1) to function simultaneously with the scratch volume (on drive 2).
    Using the fastest drive possible for the system/apps is usually a good idea.
    I think I would use two drives set for RAID-0 as a dedicated scratch disk array (used for no other purpose) if I were looking for a meaningful improvement in performance with very large files in a MacPro.

A single drive solutions, even with partitions, operate cooperatively.
    (processes "take turns" using the controller and read-head)
    Partitions can actually reduce overall system performance on a single drive system and should probably be avoided.

3. czardonic thread starter macrumors member