Stop popups from taking control over Safari?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by Fzang, Jun 21, 2015.

  1. Fzang macrumors 65816

    Fzang

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    #1
    How can I stop popups from resizing the window, hiding the toolbar and showing the status bar? It's super annoying if I happen to close my main window and there's a small popup hiding somewhere, because now when I open safari again I have to groom the small window into how it was before.
     
  2. iubhounds macrumors regular

    iubhounds

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    #2
    Have you tried using AdBlock Plus? The times I've tried Safari, this seems to work. I have yet to find a good FlashBlock, therefore I don't use Safari as a default browser. With my limited data per month I can't afford to have automatic vids loading from news or sports sites. I live in a rural area where satellite internet is my only option.

    I am not sure about your issue of resizing windows, but I do know that AdBlock Plus will stop the popups.
     
  3. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #3
    uBlock extension, more options than most Adblocker`s & lower overheads. I would also run AdwareMedic for good measure.

    Q-6
     
  4. Fzang thread starter macrumors 65816

    Fzang

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    #4
    The problem is, that some popups are not "unwanted". E.g. when I log into my dorm internet I get a small popup that displays data usage. If I close this window, it logs off. If I hide the window and close all other windows first, and then finally the popup, all new windows will be tiny, and toolbar hidden.

    I have no issues with the popup appearing, when it's useful (or at least trying to be), but I hate going through the circus of resizing, hiding status bar and unhiding toolbar if I close the wrong window first.
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    An adblock program is only going to block items in the preconfigured blacklist or items you manually block. Presumably your dorm's web site will not be on that block list, so it will work fine. You can also add items to the whitelist in the adblocker if there is a specific website you want to allow a popup that was blocked.
     
  6. steve23094 macrumors 68000

    steve23094

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    #6
    Have you tried ClickToPlugin? It works pretty well for me.
     
  7. iubhounds macrumors regular

    iubhounds

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    #7
    I have that installed on my MBA and have tried it on my iMac. As recently as today while on my MBA, I went to ESPN and their videos started playing. Each time I've had to turn off the auto play on the ESPN sites. On my iMac, it never blocked vids from playing automatically.
     
  8. iubhounds macrumors regular

    iubhounds

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    #8
    An amendment to my earlier post on this thread where I discussed the negative performance of Safari. Yesterday in my new MBA I was using Safari as a test. Seeing if there were any changes from my last attempt to having it work with Last Pass. I am not sure what has happened but Safari worked like a champ.

    No problems loading Facebook, no problems logging into websites using LastPass for my log in information. I also tried loading all the sports and news sites that have automatic videos .... for some reason the blocks worked.

    Today i moved over to my older iMac and did all the same things on Safari as I did on the new laptop. I saw where I had downloaded an app called uBlock. Anyway I logged into my blogs and other sites using LastPass for my log in information with no problems. Videos did not play automatically.

    I've made Safari my default browser now. It seems fast, no hiccups. I am not sure when the last Safari update was, but it's working perfect now, whereas before I swore I was never going back to it.
     
  9. rosario1990 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Location:
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    #9
    I have had same issue. When I opened my mozila browser then many windows would open at a time. Really disturbing.
     

Share This Page