Geektool Stop 'Seconds' showing!

Discussion in 'UI Customization' started by Communicator, Jul 14, 2013.

  1. Communicator macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    #1
    Hi all,

    I'm using Geektool to show when I've last backed-up with Time Machine.

    To get the info on screen I use:

    defaults read /private/var/db/.TimeMachine.Results BACKUP_COMPLETED_DATE | awk '{print "date -j -f \"%F %T %z\" \""$1FS$2FS$3"\" \"+%B %e, %Y at %r\""}' | bash

    The following shows on the desktop:
    July 14, 2013 at 04:59:51 pm

    Could someone tell me what I need to delete from the programming above to avoid showing the details of the seconds? The seconds, that's too much info!

    Thanks for reading and any help.

    Communicator
     
  2. corporategadfly macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    #2
    Replace:
    Code:
    at %r
    with:
    Code:
    at %I:%M %p
    Cheers.
     
  3. Dionvest macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    #3
    or replace
    Code:
       %B %e, %Y at %r 
     
    with
    Code:
      %b %d %Y, at %I:%m%p
     
     
  4. moonracer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    #4
    Are you using this in Mavericks by chance? Mine is no longer displaying in Geektools on the desktop.

    I'm getting an error when I execute within terminal and nothing is displayed in Geektool.

    CODE:
    Code:
    defaults read /private/var/db/.TimeMachine.Results BACKUP_COMPLETED_DATE | awk '{print "date -j -f \"%F %T %z\" \""$1FS$2FS$3"\" \"+%B %e, %Y at %I:%M %p\""}' | bash
    ERROR:
    Code:
    The domain/default pair of (/private/var/db/.TimeMachine.Results, BACKUP_COMPLETED_DATE) does not exist
    Thanks,
    mr
     

Share This Page