Storage Meter Wrong

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by mariusignorello, Aug 30, 2015.

  1. mariusignorello macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    #1
    So many people are excited and demanding a new seed or GM of El Capitan. Funny because my MacBook Pro is freaking out that there's no disk space left, when there's plenty.

    Anyone else having this problem?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #2
    You are using some software providing cache function on your machine?
    By the way, this may be a known issue in el Capitan beta.
     
  3. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #3
    Yes, the storage graph is notoriously inaccurate.
    You can reset the Spotlight database, which will then rebuild. That will help show a more correct result.

    What exactly is that "Caching" window in the background of your screen shot? OS X does a good job of that caching. Third-party utilities that change how the system works are probably not helping you, and El Capitan also changes that significantly. Those third-party utilities usually need updates to work properly with El Capitan, but there's not much point when the final version will be released soon. A few of those kind of utilities may have updates before then, but most will probably wait until final release.
     
  4. mariusignorello thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    #4
    You guys have never seen OS X Server?
     
  5. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
    Sure
    So, you are using Server with a boot drive of only 128GB?

    You did say in OP that you are running out of space?
    But your graphic in that post shows more than 20% free.
    It's a small amount of total storage, but less that 80& used - not exactly full.

    Have you tried rebuilding the Spotlight database yet?
     
  6. mariusignorello thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    #6
    I didn't know the database rebuild was a solution. And it's obviously wrong.
     
  7. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #7
    That graph is often very inaccurate in El Capitan beta.

    Yes, rebuilding the Spotlight database will directly affect what is displayed in the Storage graph, and should make it appear with a more accurate reading. Probably will get worse after a few days, and few system restarts, then you rebuild again.
    Or, you can also just accept that graph will not give you an accurate view about the storage drives.
    Hopefully, that will be fixed for the final release of El Cap, so it's not quite so far out of reality.
     
  8. mariusignorello thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    #8
    Rebuilding did nothing. I'm probably going to obliterate the entire disk and start from scratch when the GM or final release comes out. That should make things much smoother.
     
  9. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #9
    Do you use FileVault?

    Did you restart, or logout, then log in, which may be what will show the rebuilt storage graph?
     
  10. mariusignorello thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    #10
    I do use FileVault but there's no way I'm turning that off (I can but I don't want to for a very specific reason). And restarting doesn't fix it. In fact I think restarting is more of a Windows solution, though a time consuming one.
     
  11. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #11
    Yep. I know nothing about Mac OS X server.

    However, this issue is present in El Capitan beta.
     
  12. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #12
    FileVault likely is affecting that Storage graph, too.
    Here's what you can do:
    Turn off FileVault.
    Rebuild the Spotlight database. Be sure that it finishes by checking in Spotlight for the progress bar.
    Restart, with FileVault still off.
    Turn on FileVault.
    This all might take several hours, so I can understand why that may not appeal to you.
    Or, just ignore the Storage graph. It is not exactly your primary source for that information :D
     
  13. slvrscoobie macrumors 6502a

    slvrscoobie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Location:
    NJ
    #13
    not sure if your using it or not, but I found that a bunch of my space was missing, until I realized that TimeMachine was storing local backups to my disk even when connected to the regular TM disk. Was using about 35gb that I couldnt find, except in the difference between 'available' and 'used' space:
    120gb, 35gb available, 50gb used. wtf?
    /volumes/localbackups/
     

Share This Page