Stored user name / password

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by mac2thefuture, Mar 25, 2008.

  1. mac2thefuture macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Lancashire, North West, UK
    #1
    I've recently upgraded to 1.1.4 and all the sites I browse via my iPhone of which i'm a member of i.e MacRumors seem to forget even after pressing remember me etc so I always have go through the pain of login-in each time.
    Is this a known bug/is there a fix?

    Kind regards
     
  2. mac2thefuture thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Lancashire, North West, UK
  3. Ronnoco macrumors 68030

    Ronnoco

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    United States of America
    #3
    Perhaps try syncing your Safari bookmarks from your computer to the iPhone...that might help...
     
  4. Matth3w macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #4
    Mine are sync'd and do the same thing. For example, that KingdomGame.net, I have to log in each time.
     
  5. WMuntean macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    #5
    Mobile folder doesn't have proper Permissions I believe. Do a Google search with some terms and you'll find how to fix it.

    There is also a fix that you can install via installer, however I did the terminal method and it works perfectly.
     
  6. slomifier macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    #7
    Apple f'd up Safari in 1.1.4. TO fix it, you have to be JB'en.

    Open terminal or shh your ipod and type: chown -R mobile:mobile /var/mobile .

    Restart your iPod and re-login to the website.

    I think the problem is, is that they changed where the cookies go to, but not where their being read from.

    (If this is what the link says, sorry. I didn't look at the link.)
     
  7. mac2thefuture thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Lancashire, North West, UK
    #8
    Thanks for the advice - where can I get SSH or Terminal and then how do I get within these apps? Embarrassed to ask :eek:
     
  8. slomifier macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    #9
    Assuming your JB'en, go to google and download WinSCP.

    -Go into your iPod's network selection screen, click on the network your using, and look at the screen that opened up, and you should see your iPod's IP andress. Remember it.

    -Go into WinSCP, and you should see a screen asking for your iPods login info.
    -IP is, well your iPods IP
    -Leave the port number at 22
    -Username is root
    -Password is alpine
    -Change the file protocal to SCP

    -Press save, so you don't have to do all this again.

    -Now that you can get into WinSCP, you change alot of stuff manually, like icons and stuff.

    -Anyways, open up WinSCP's terminal. (Sorry, I'm doing this off of memory, but I think you press Ctrl+T.

    -Type chown -R mobile:mobile /var/mobile into the terminal box an d press enter. It's not gonna tell you when its done, so just wait like 5 seconds, than close it.

    -Now, go into you iPod's safari, and re-log into stuff.

    There you go!
     
  9. mac2thefuture thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Lancashire, North West, UK
    #10
    Hey thanks for all your effort and all but it seems that WinSCP is for windows and i run my iPhone via an iMac - anyone know of a equivalent app and instructions?? - Thanks
     
  10. chronzz macrumors member

    chronzz

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #11
    use terminal in utilities folder in the applications folder

    ssh -l root 10.0.2.3
    change the ip with your phones ip
     
  11. mac2thefuture thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Lancashire, North West, UK
    #12
    [​IMG]
     
  12. hollerz macrumors 6502a

    hollerz

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    #13
    did you change the IP to your phones IP?
     
  13. mac2thefuture thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Lancashire, North West, UK
    #14
    I don't get to a point where I can enter the ip address of my iPhone.... I have tried both but id the character an l or a 1 after shh??
    Spaces as you've described between the characters??....sorry for all this .
     

Share This Page