straight ethernet work between macs?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Shivetya, Apr 11, 2009.

  1. Shivetya macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #1
    I know it worked during migration assistant but does it work all the time?

    I need to slurp off the 40+ gig music directory from the old machine as MA didn't get it ... and I figure direct eth-eth would be fastest.

    if it does, do I just use network to find the other mac?
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    As long as both are on the same network sections then sure. I'd suggest manually setting the IP addresses on both Macs to make sure. Set one to 192.168.0.1 and the other to 192.168.0.2, netmask of 255.255.255.0 on both...
     
  3. fohawk17 macrumors regular

    fohawk17

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #3
    yes it should. make sure they have the same ip. i used to do it all the time
     
  4. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #4
    No, make sure they don't have the same IP. Follow Robbies post for winnage.

    And it does work. I connect my Macbook and iMac via LAN quite often to transfer large files.
     
  5. GoKyu macrumors 65816

    GoKyu

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #5
    Slight detour off the original topic - It used to be that to hook 2 machines directly to each other, you needed a crossover ethernet cable...why is that not necessary anymore? Isn't the networking still the same?
     
  6. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #6
    As for the IP address mentioned above. I always list the one computers IP address as the others router address.

    ie
    Computer A
    IP Address 192.168.0.1
    Subnet 255.255.255.0
    Router 192.168.0.2

    Computer B
    IP Address 192.168.0.2
    Subnet 255.255.255.0
    Router 192.168.0.1

    You really need to do this for a direct connections with Windows but I am not sure about OS X. I use a router now and don't want to drag one of my Macs across the house to test.:rolleyes:

    Most ethernet adapters are smart enough to see the direct connection and are capable of making the switch themselves to the patched mode. Macs have had this capability much longer than most other PC's.
     
  7. Shivetya thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #7
    OK.

    Will creating this link mess up my wireless? I figure to offline them both from the wireless before doing this.
     
  8. jodelli macrumors 65816

    jodelli

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    Windsor, ON, Canada
    #8
    Macs have been able to use regular ethernet directly connected for a while now, they're capable of detecting which cable is plugged in. Particulars here:
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2274
     
  9. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #9
    You don't even have to configure manual IPs. With auto-assignment the Macs will negotiate and pick private IPs that will work.
     
  10. chaos86 macrumors 65816

    chaos86

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #10
    Yep. This method has worked for me in the past without need for any settings changes on ethernet, firewire (800 and 400), ad-hoc wifi, and even bluetooth (though it was slow as crap).
     

Share This Page