Straight To Swift or Objective C

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by oo7ml, Jun 13, 2014.

1. oo7ml macrumors 6502

Hi, i've been building websites for the last 12 years, mainly front end html and css, with a small bit of backend php and mysql.

I am now hoping to dive into the world of App Development and i have a few questions which i hope someone can help me with please:

01 - Should i go straight to learning Swift or should i start with Objective C
    02 - Do you have to have Xcode 6 to use Swift
    03 - Can i download Xcode 6 or do i have to wait until it is officially released
    04 - Can anyone recommend a good source / book for learning Swift
    05 - Any other advice about starting off in iOS development would be greatly appreciated, especially considering i am coming from more of a front end background

Thanks in advance for you help.

2. Ubuntu macrumors 68000

Ubuntu

1. Objective-C as it's a developed language whereas Swift is still very much a work in progress - albeit one with great promise so I'd definitely look towards using it in the future.

2. Yes.

3. If you're enrolled on the developer program (so you pay your $99) you can use Xcode 6 beta now. Otherwise you'll have to wait.

4. Check iBooks - there are two Swift books from Apple.

5. Follow the guides provided by Apple (Your First App is a great one) and then when you're a bit more comfortable with iOS development I'd look at watching the whole Stanford iOS development course available on iTunes U (for free!)

3. oo7ml thread starter macrumors 6502

Thanks so much for your help, much appreciated.

4. loon3y macrumors 65816

loon3y

it seems much more simple, no more stupid header files and declaring stuff with pointers.

im not where near a great programmer so the transition is still hard for me, but it looks cool.

someone told me it reminds them of power builder.

5. chrono1081 macrumors 604

chrono1081

Whats the second one called? I only see one...