Strange artifacts on black background

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by tarsierspectral, May 22, 2014.

  1. tarsierspectral macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    #1
    Hi,

    I just recently got nMP and I'm using it with 30" ACD. My computer is connected to the screen using Mini DisplayPort to Dual-Link DVI Adapter. When I have a screen (website, black background in photoshop etc) that has a black background I would see something I would describe as "dancing pixels". They are white pixels that flicker all over the screen. This morning though it seems like things got worse and I am seeing blue pixels as well. You can't see it if I take a screenshot of it. Anyone has any idea why that's happening?
     
  2. thefredelement macrumors 65816

    thefredelement

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #2
    Can you try a different display and see if it happens? I think it might be the ACD because you said when you take a screen shot you don't see it.

     
  3. tomvos macrumors 6502

    tomvos

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    In the Nexus.
    #3
    These dancing pixels happen from time to time. The adapter Apple sells is quite expensive and quite trashy.

    I had the same problem with my 30" ACD when it was connected to a MBP via the Mini-Display-Port. Unplugging the adapter did help sometimes, but the dancing pixels came back after some minutes or hours.

    I don't know if other adapters don't exhibit the same issue, but at the time I was researching alternatives, most reviewers stated this problem with every adapter.


    Sorry to be the bearer of bad news. :(
     
  4. tarsierspectral thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    #4
    OK, at least I'm not the only one!
     
  5. tomvos macrumors 6502

    tomvos

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    In the Nexus.
    #5
  6. DigitalVT macrumors member

    DigitalVT

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    The dancing pixels is digital noise. Presumably you have a DVI cable connected from the Dual Link DVI adapter to the monitor, have you tried changing that DVI cable, some cables can become noisey, and to avoid such issues, it's always preferred to use short cables.
     
  7. tomvos macrumors 6502

    tomvos

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    In the Nexus.
    #7
    My son, did you ever have a 30" ACD? Because I would really like you to tell me how to change the DVI-USB-FW400-power all in one cable. :D
     
  8. chrisn123 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    #8
    I have two 30" ACD with adapters. I noticed noise on one display after adding a new external device. I just switched to a diff TB port and it went away permanently.
     
  9. DigitalVT macrumors member

    DigitalVT

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Apologies, my bad, I keep forgetting ACD's aren't as flexible as "normal" monitors. Like that you call me son though!
     

Share This Page