Strange battery usage stat.

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by HankHowdy, Jan 14, 2016.

  1. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #1
    [​IMG]

    One line reads as Backup. It's using quite a bit of battery. I don't even have back up on.

    What can I do?

    iPhone 6 9.2

    Thanks.
     
  2. Yun0 macrumors 65816

    Yun0

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    #2
    did u start a backup manually? cause if u have backup off..it doesnt just start backing up on its own...
     
  3. HankHowdy thread starter macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #3
    I don't understand. Can you explain a bit more?
     
  4. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #4
    He means. Did you initiate a manual backup? Settings > iCloud > Backup > Back Up Now
     
  5. HankHowdy thread starter macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #5
    Never.

    I never use back ups.
     
  6. Yun0 macrumors 65816

    Yun0

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    #6
    are u 100% sure (auto)backup is off? backups ONLY happen on wifi when the device is locked..

    feel free to show a screenshot if u want to
     
  7. HankHowdy thread starter macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #7




    Back up inside of iCloud settings is toggled off.
     
  8. Yun0 macrumors 65816

    Yun0

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    #8
    i may be beating a dead horse here, but did u happen to have it on before, then turn it off within the last 24hrs?
     
  9. HankHowdy thread starter macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #9
    No, never use back ups, manual or iTunes.
     
  10. decafjava macrumors 68000

    decafjava

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Location:
    Geneva
    #10
    Just as an aside, you really should backup - iTunes at least won't use your battery.
     
  11. HankHowdy thread starter macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #11
    I don't really need it. I never have anything that I need to save.
     
  12. Rob198612 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    #12
    so when you buy a new phone you will enter everything manually because you don't back up? makes no sense
     
  13. HankHowdy thread starter macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #13

    What is there to manually enter in?


    How often do you buy a new phone?
     
  14. Rob198612 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    #14

    All your contact information emails messages apps etc

    Yearly
     
  15. HankHowdy thread starter macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #15
    So I enter my iTunes info in a couple times. No biggie. Spend ten minutes a year.
     
  16. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #16
    iTunes backup can be down wirelessly, which could use battery.

    iTunes backup is enabled automatically. So if you sync with iTunes via USB or wirelessly, a backup is still being created.
     
  17. HankHowdy thread starter macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #17
    I never use them or see them. Interesting.
     

Share This Page