Strange icon in menubar

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Causality, Feb 9, 2010.

  1. Causality macrumors newbie

    Causality

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #1
    I don't know what this is, but lately it's been showing up in my menu bar. I've dragged it out of the menubar several times now, but it keeps coming back.

    [​IMG]

    Anyone know what it is/how to get rid of it?
     
  2. chrismacguy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    Which menubar (Apple Menubar, or is it just in certain applications), and when you click on it, does anything appear?
     
  3. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #3
    Click on it and see if there's a drop-down menu to start. Look in your System Preferences and Startup Items if there's nothing there. It's obviously related to something you've installed, and seems to indicate either a power or signal level.
     
  4. mac2x macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    #4
    I can't find it, but there was a thread about this very icon some time back. Maybe someone will know the right keywords to find it.
     
  5. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    Looks like a cell phone related icon, like Sprint maybe. I remember a thread on this icon before.

    Edit: here's a thread on it, it was a bluetooth phone issue.
     
  6. mac2x macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    #6
    Yup, that was the thread. Nice work! ;)
     
  7. Salmar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    I have that icon on my menu bar also and it is related to my sprint broadband air card because that is what I use to connect to the internet and get online. I also can disconnect from the internet. I have to connect and disconnect using that icon. DSL and cable internet are not available in my area and the Sprint air card USB modem is what I have to use to connect. Why it appears on your menu bar I have no idea.
     

Share This Page