Strange Icon Symbol on Application Folder (Pic Included)

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Ony, Mar 5, 2010.

  1. Ony macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    #1
    Hello sirs,

    I just bought a macbook pro 15" and I noticed something strange. I installed Skype application and the icon is strange and different on my dock application folder. Why does it not show Skype's normal icon? Check pic for more details.


    Thanks in advance,


    Anthony

    [​IMG]
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    That's because it's a newly-added app.
    1. Drag your Applications folder off your Dock and let go. It will disappear.
    2. Then go to Finder and drag the Applications folder back to the Dock.
    3. When you first drag the App folder to the dock, it will show the icon for Address Book, which is the first app in the folder.
    4. To make it look like a folder again, right-click on the Applications folder on your Dock and select "Display As" > Folder
     
  3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    Even if you open Skype, it won't go away. Permissions aren't the issue. The instructions I showed will work every time. Another option is to use Terminal to kill the Dock, but I don't recommend Terminal solutions to people who are new to Mac.
     
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    It worked for me, the opening part at least.

    But your hint seems logical too.
     
  5. Ony thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    #6
    I opened the app but still the sign does not go away!
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    No, it won't go away, no matter how many times you start the app. Follow the directions I gave you. It will work.
     
  7. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #8
    Then follow GGJStudios instructions.
     
  8. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #9
    I don't get why you're talking about the dock. All he has to do is simply click on Skype and the icon will fix itself, just like spinnerlys wrote.

    Edit: I guess not after seeing the OP's response. Anyway, what I said and he said have always worked for me.
     
  9. bigjnyc macrumors 601

    bigjnyc

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #10
    No need for all of that. just log out and log back in.
     
  10. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #11
    .... which has the same effect as killing the Dock in Terminal. However, the steps I suggested take less than 20 seconds and don't require restarting apps, losing open web pages, etc. That's why I didn't recommend logging out/in or restarting.
     
  11. Ony thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
  12. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #13
    So, why do you think this happened to the OP? I've had that icon with the slash and it gets fixed everytime I open the app.
     
  13. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #14
    I've never had it go away, no matter how many times I launch the app, until the folder on the Dock is refreshed, either through the steps I posted, or through Terminal, or logging out/in or restarting. It's Mac OS X letting you know this app wasn't there before, I assume as a security feature. I don't know how you got it to change, simply by launching the app. Never works that way for me.
     
  14. Ainze macrumors regular

    Ainze

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #15
    It's just normal for brand new apps from the internet. Once you open it and the system knows that your app has permission to run and will run on your computer, it will use the real icon. In stacks it doesn't always update. I don't know why. Restarting the dock will fix it, or you can just leave it until the next time you start up your computer. It's not a problem, don't worry about it.
     
  15. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #16
    When you open an app you've never used before, do you get a message asking if you want to open this app from the internet (or something to that affect)?
     
  16. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #17
    Yes. Ainze is right. After launching the app, the correct icon shows in the Applications folder in Finder, but the App folder on the Dock is not refreshed automatically.

    Here's what happens:

    1. I download and install a new app. The icon in the Application folder in Finder is correct, but the icon in the Applications folder on the Dock is the "temporary" icon.
    1.jpg
    (I have noticed that, in some cases, if I've installed and removed the app before, the proper icon shows up as soon as I re-install it.)​

    2. Launch the application, and I get this message:
    4.jpg
    3. Even with the application launched multiple times, the icon in the Dock's Application folder remains the same:
    2.jpg
    4. Either by using the steps I posted earlier, or by launching Terminal and entering "killall Dock", or by logging out/in, or by using the TinkerTool app I used in this illustration to Relaunch the Dock, the Dock Application folder gets refreshed:
    3.jpg
     
  17. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #18
    The problem is that when the Application is placed in /Applications, it automatically gets tagged with com.apple.quarantine this prevents the system from grabbing any information from that file, including the icon which is of course inside the app.

    Even after stripping com.apple.quarantine manually or by opening the application, the blocked icon still shows in the Dock since it is loading in cache. You have to force update by, as GGJ stated, removing the folder and adding it to the dock again. Or killing the Dock process.

    A folder action could easily fix this issue, here is the workflow:

    On add items to /Applications
    xattr -d com.apple.quarantine from items
    killall Dock
     
  18. jsoto macrumors regular

    jsoto

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #19
    Thanks GGStudios! Had the same issue. Which I used MRoogle to look for the solution. Many thanks!
     

Share This Page