Strange Mac Problem

Discussion in 'iMac' started by mightyPhone, May 17, 2009.

  1. mightyPhone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #1
    Hi,

    I have a G4 iMac running 10.4.11. The lamp shape one. Recently something strange happened to it, it's really driving me nuts!!

    When I right click, the menu comes up with strange names like N156, N156.1 instead of Open, Open with... I can't figure out what is wrong and how to fix it, can any of you gurus help me?

    I have repaired the volume with the DVD, I have run OnyX, I have repaired permissions and I have reinstalled 10.4.11 combo updater from Apple, none of them works!! :(

    I really hesitate to have to reinstall the 10.4.5 (the disk I have) from scratch because it's a long process to up date to 10.4.11 again and not to mention all my applications and data.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    You need to check a file to see if its there or messed up. The file is:

    /System/Library/CoreServices/Finder.app/Contents/Resources/English.lpoj/Localizable.strings

    Its a big file. Just search for one of the codes that pop up. Contents should look like this.

    "N150" = "Help";
    "N151" = "Open";
    "N152" = "Open With";
    "N153" = "Move to Trash";
    "N154" = "Duplicate";
    "N155" = "Make Alias";
    "N156" = "New Folder";
    "N156.1" = "New Burn Folder";
    "N156.2" = "New Smart Folder";
    "N157" = "Empty Trash";
    "N157.1" = "Secure Empty Trash";
    "N158" = "Show Package Contents";
    "N159" = "Show Inspector";
    "N161" = "Always Open With";
    "N162" = "Open Enclosing Folder";
    "N164" = "Change Desktop Background…";
    "N165" = "Get Info";

    If it doesn't, you should probably do an Archive and Install.
     
  3. MacPC macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    #3
    Thanks for the reply flopticalcube.

    I did look at this file you mentioned but see none of the codes, I will try to manually add them and see if that works.

    Does anyone know how this could happen in the first place?
     
  4. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #4
    Probably a messed up update somewhere along the line.
     
  5. Yiz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    #5
    it's happening to me :(

    it's happened to me now with my mac book pro but the text seems normal to me, do i have to re install?
     

Share This Page