Strange problem after upgrading hard drive - please help!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by judgejohn82, Aug 5, 2010.

  1. judgejohn82 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #1
    Hi guys,

    This morning I received a 500Gb Western Digital Scorpio Blue hard drive to replace the stock 250Gb model in my 2010 model 13" MBP.

    The installation was a breeze, and I used my Time Capsule to restore my previous system onto the new HD.

    All seemed to be going really well, until I realised that several applications now will not start (these include iPhoto, Safari and iWeb, however other Apple programs like Mail and iTunes work fine, and all non Apple applications work fine).

    Being a newbie to the Mac world, I have no idea how to fix this and would appreciate any advice. The MBP is working fine otherwise (I am using it with Firefox to type this).

    Any suggestions readily welcomed!

    John
     
  2. moel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    #2
    Go into your applications folder

    You'll find a folder called utilities, inside which is disk utility

    Open it, select the Mac's hard disk and click 'Repair disk permissions'

    Should sort you out!
     
  3. TheBritishBloke macrumors 68030

    TheBritishBloke

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    If moel's advice doesn't work.

    Stick In your os x install DVD. And install os x without formatting, this will also fix corrupted files without losing any of your data. See if that works.
     
  4. judgejohn82 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #4
    Thank you so much for both of your replies.

    I tried the first option, repairing the disk permissions. It said they had been repaired, but when I go to open Safari, iPhoto etc again I have the same initial problem.

    I am currently trying the 2nd option of installing OSX without formatting the disk.

    If anyone else has any other ideas, please feel free to chip in, this is driving me nuts!

    John
     
  5. moel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    #5
    if your re-installing, then that'll right it all

    The alternative is dumping all your prefs for everything affected.

    Sorry it's not been as trouble free as it should have been, i had a similar issue with my Final Cut Studio, after doing similar!
     
  6. maril1111 macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #6
    I had something like that as well however the only way I could use Ilife 09 again was reinstallation... However Safari should work without problems
     
  7. J&JPolangin macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Location:
    Thule GL @ the TOW
    #7
    ...why not try CCC (carbon copy cloner) from your original HDD to the new HDD?

    Worked great for my HDD upgrade on my whitebook!
     
  8. judgejohn82 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #8
    Hi,

    Thanks for the suggestion. Excuse my ignorance, but is this an app?
     
  9. greythorne macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    #9
    Why you did not get the WD 500G Scorpio black its 7200rpm should be faster right? Anyway i would prefer a complete clean installation rather than using clone or TM.
     
  10. judgejohn82 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #10
    Quick update, reinstalling OSX did the job, thanks again!

    The reason I didn't go for the Black versions that I've heard it makes the system louder and decreases battery life, so happy to stick with the 5400rpm Blue.
     

Share This Page