Strange Snow Leopard menu

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by hackum, Feb 20, 2010.

  1. hackum macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #1
    Has anyone seen this before? When I go to the Open With submenu, it looks all messed up like this. OS is Snow Leopard on last gen MBP.

    Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. hackum thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
  3. [DL] macrumors 6502

    [DL]

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #3
    Hm. I've never seen anything like that before... but it isn't anything you should worry about.
     
  4. hackum thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #4
    I havent either. The problem is when I try to open with a .txt or another file which can be associated with more apps. then it looks a real mess.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    Have you tried repairing permissions via Disk Utility?

    [​IMG]
     
  6. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #6
    Have you restarted your computer, or at least "force quit" and restarted the Finder

    I think maybe you need to find the Finder preferences file and trash it
     
  7. hackum thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #7
    I have restarted a few times, I will try the Finder thing now. Could it be some issue with Adobe CS4 Suite ...
     
  8. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #8
    I wouldn't rule out anything at this point :)
     
  9. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #9
    I think you need to rebuild your launch services. OnyX can do it, and I think pulling com.apple.LaunchServices.plist from ~/Library/Preferences will do the job too.
     
  10. hackum thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #10
    The problem was Adobe CS4 ... I dont know why and how it happened as I use the same software on a Mac Pro with no side effects ... well done Adobe.
     
  11. hackum thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #11
    The problem was not CS4, I tried rebuilding launch scripts, verfying and repairing disk permissions ... non of this helped. Also this problem does not appear all the time. For example I click one time and the submenu looks ok, I click another time and it is all messed up.

    I dont know what to do now ...
     
  12. mac2x macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    #12
    Did you trash that Finder plist? If not, trash it and relaunch Finder.
     
  13. hackum thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #13
    No, it did not work, unfortunately...
    But since I did it, the problem occurred only once, I haven't been able to replicate it a 2nd time... so weird.
     
  14. hackum thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #14
    May be it worked ... I am so confused. I haven't been able to replicate the issue. What might have been the problem?
     
  15. mac2x macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    #15
    Sometimes plists can become corrupted, so trashing the bad one will force the app to make a fresh one. Let us know if you see this again.
     
  16. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #16
    enter this command into Terminal to relaunch your LaunchServices.

    Code:
    /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/LaunchServices.framework/Versions/A/Support/lsregister -kill -seed -rfv -all user, system, local
     
  17. mac2x macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    #17
    That's great, but you need to delete LaunchServices' cache too. Onyx can do that for you.

    Be aware that deleting the cache will break all application bindings, so you'll have to slowly rebuild what opens what.
     
  18. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #18
    hah i was going to recommend Onyx too, but i found it easier just to explain entering a Terminal command.
     
  19. hackum thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #19
    Thanks, it looks like the problem is gone for now!
     

Share This Page