Strange Start Up Screen with Green Apple Displayed

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Keats1, Sep 28, 2018.

  1. Keats1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #1
    28 Sep 18 P.M.
    Late 2011 MacBook Pro 15" screen. Model A1286, 8GB Ram memory,(MD322LL/A) 2.5GHz,Intel Core I7, Model 8.2. Using High Sierra 10.13.6 Operating System.

    About two weeks ago - prior to the O.S. upgrade - my laptop began having issues with freezing up. I would have to shut down the computer and restart it. It would work fine for a long time but then it began to happen more often.

    It then started to display a strange screen when it started that was very grainy and had horizontal lines running across the screen and a light Green color apple would appear with a Green progress bar below it. The normal sounds would happen and I could hear the H.D. spinning up and the chime sounding. Eventually the Gray screen would appear with a darker Apple logo and the proper progress bar. The laptop would be up and running and everything was fine again.

    A couple days ago I ran First Aid in Disk Utility and again everything showed no problems. I ran AVG virus software and it came back with no viruses found.

    I've used my desk top computer to check for possible cures and since then I've tried doing the O.S. upgrade and that went well. Shortly after the upgrade, the same problems happened again. I tried starting while holding down the Command R key, no success, Holding down the "D" key brought me to the AHT page and it was very hard to read. Very grainy again and it had a deep Blue background screen and a light Gray box for commands. I ran the regular program and the extended version of the program and I got results that read 4MEM/9/40000000:eek:X8473B618 a couple of times. I ran it again and it came back with no problems found. When I ran it again today, it again came back with the same 4MEM message.

    I opened the back and checked the 2 ram chips 4 GB each and swapped their position in the computer. Again, I got the same repeated attempts to start up and the Green Apple screen.
    The laptop will not start at all now, it attempts to start and eventually goes to a Black screen and just stops.

    So I'm at a loss. If the memory chip(s) are bad, why would I get conflicting messages at the AHT test? The problem began before I did the O.S. upgrade. No viruses found, it happens while on battery power and while using the electric cord. I did notice that it seems to be running quite warm especially while a heavy graphic screen is shown (when it was running). I'm going to try to post a couple photos of the screen as it appears now.
    IMG_2447.jpg IMG_2449.jpg IMG_2458.jpg
    If anyone has any ideas why this is happening or especially how to fix the problem, please post a reply to my message. I know that I can take it to the Apple store and they will ship it out and Apple will probably get it working again but that is not my first choice. That's a last resort..

    Thanks and sorry that this posting is so long. Lots of stuff to cover.

    Keats
    Peoria, Arizona
     
  2. 960design macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    Destin, FL
    #2
    The AVG virus software you ran, possibly infected your computer. Virus software is one of the very few ways bad actors can access your Mac OS X. Please completely wipe your Mac and hope it was not UEFI based. Because then you are buying a new computer.
    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204904#erase

    Please do not install AntiVirus software on your computer. It is akin to replacing the factory door locks installed on your Lambo by a couple of shady fellows that hail you at a stop light ( advertisements ).
     
  3. Keats1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #3
    Good advice.
    However, the AVG has been in the laptop for about 5 years so far and up till now, no problems. I did not do an up grade for the AVG software. I can't get the computer to open at all so how do I do a wipe? I can't see anything...
     
  4. 960design macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    Destin, FL
    #4
    https://www.express.co.uk/life-styl...on-hijacked-hack-computer-malware-doubleagent

    We've used AVGs weaknesses and root access to exploit machines for many, many years. You hear about it in the news about five years after we've stopped using it. Script kiddies will continue to play up to the end. You may have been infected many years ago and just recently and amatuer script kiddy starts harvesting your CPU for crypto.

    Adobe Flash and Java is still installed on most computers.

    I would still recommend a full reinstall of the OS.
     
  5. yukari macrumors 6502

    yukari

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
  6. Keats1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #6
    Update: Sat 9/29/18 A.M.
    My laptop kept rebooting on it's own for a while and eventually it came back to life. Whew!!
    So, I fired up my G Tech eternal H.D. and after erasing it totally, I copied my laptop H.D. to it. About an hour later it was done and I ran my AVG virus software on the laptop. Sure enough, it came back with 8 hits for a virus. I had run it just a couple days earlier and it was fine. Go figure.
    The virus was in a program called DrCleaner. I had found this program on a trusted web site and when it downloaded, I was infected.
    The viruses were being held in Quarentine by AVG and I allowed it to delete the viruses.

    I tried to delete the software from the G Tech but because it was a back up copy, I could not modify it. So I accessed my H.D. on the laptop and did a delete of the software there and then I did another "Back Up" on the G Tech. When I checked the G Tech, the DrCleaner software was not there any longer.

    I checked my desk top and it did not have the download to begin with. I again checked my laptop H.D. and the software was no longer showing. I did two more back ups on the G Tech and each time checked and the software was not there.

    This morning, my laptop started right up like it used to do. No glitches (so far) and hopefully the problem is finally solved.

    AVG said the DrCleaner was spyware. Based on that, I've changed all of my user names and passwords on all of my bookmark sites. I do not allow my browser to store any of that info any longer and while it's a pain in the tush, I'd rather imput that info as needed, when needed. Needless to say, I'm very leery about any downloads and will stick to the Apple site for my software in the future.

    Thank all of you for the replies. I hope that this helps someone down the line. I don't recall where I got the DrCleaner software at this time. If I find out, I'll update this posting as a warning to others.

    Keats
    Peoria, Az.

    I should add that I did an update to Sierra a few days ago and it did not detect or correct the virus. Hmmm? I thought it was suppose to find and eliminate viruses during an update. Apparently not.
     
  7. mick2 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2017
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    I think this is whats happening here. You may also have had a piece of malware on your system - which you seem to have removed - but this is very unlikely to be the cause of the graphical glitches you report in your OP.

    I think there are various reports on here of the dGPUs in 2011 15" MBPs being faulty, and this is likely what you're experiencing.
     
  8. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #8
    OP:

    You should also read up on "RadeonGate" (google it if you don't know what I'm talking about).

    As others have mentioned, you DON'T NEED "antivirus" software on a Mac.
    There has yet to be a single Mac "virus" found floating in "the wild".
    Not one.

    You DO NEED something called "MalwareBytes", which is FREE to download and use. Get it here:
    https://www.malwarebytes.com/mac/

    IMPORTANT:
    The app will prompt you to register for the "pay-for" version of the software.
    YOU DO NOT NEED TO DO THIS.
    It will run FOREVER in "free mode"...
     
  9. Keats1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #9
    Update Update..
    Monday 1 Oct 18 A.M.
    Latest update. On Saturday afternoon, the Laptop froze up again. It shut down and made a number of attempts to restart on it's own. I got the dreaded Green Apple page over and over.
    Sat eve I spoke with a friend who works with computers (mostly P.C.'s) and I explained the situation. As I was describing the problem and what I was seeing, he opened his photos on his camera and went right to the Green Apple screen that I was talking about. He said that he had heard about this occuring and that it was not uncommon. He suggested a few fixes.
    #1: set up a "New User" on the laptop. Do not add in any programs and simply use the existing Apple included software to see how it works.
    #2: erase the hard drive and start all over again. Just like a brand new MacBook Pro out of the box.
    #3: take the device to the Apple store and let them check it out.
    So on Sunday A.M. I set my self up as an additional user. It already had Sierra installed so I did not need to upload an O.S. and it used Safari for my browser. (I really don't like Safari) but until I decide to install FireFox, it will have to do. Everything ran well. I waited a while and closed the laptop a few times to see if it would come back to life upon opening and it did every time. So I did a download of Thunderbird for my E. Mail. If it crashed now, I'd be pretty sure that it was the new program. Got it all configured and my mail arrived and I was able to sen some too.
    I did a deep scan of the H.D. with AVG again and it found one virus. It was the same one as previously found. I'll list it below.
    For some reason I can't get the top of the screen menu bar to display when I run Thunderbird or Safari. I can put the cursor at the top of the page and it will then display the menu bar but it goes away when I move the cursor. I checked all of my settings but it will not display like it used to do. Hmmm??
    Things like Blue Tooth, Date, Battery remaining, wireless router strength, clock. are not displayed.

    All I can do for now is wait and see. Maybe this is the answer and if it keeps working, I'll try to switch from my original log in as the administrator to making my new user log in the new administrator. Not sure how to do that but we'll see.

    The exact name I got when I ran the virus check is:
    Mac OS:SpyAgent-D[Trj] private>var7db>uuidtext7367C2927dd38e32ee829323b33116599e

    I opened Finder and searched the H.D. for anything with these names and found nothing.

    So there it is. Up and running for now. All passwords changed and the browser is not saving any of my passwords. I manually enter each of them as needed. Better safe than sorry.

    Thanks for the replies.

    Keats
    Peoria, Az.
     
  10. Mr_Brightside_@ macrumors 68030

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #10
  11. yukari macrumors 6502

    yukari

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #11
    It's your dGPU not a virus. Stop banging your head against the wall.

    To paraphrase Einstein, insanity is doing the same thing over and over expecting different results.
     
  12. Mr_Brightside_@ macrumors 68030

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
    #12
  13. Painter2002 macrumors 65816

    Painter2002

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #13
    Unfortunately I do not believe this will work on OP's computer, as OP has a 2011 model. The repair program only applies to 2013/13 retina MacBook Pros. It couldn't hurt for OP to ask Apple what they could do, but I seriously doubt they will offer to repair the computer under the repair program, considering the model year it is.
     
  14. Mr_Brightside_@ macrumors 68030

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto
  15. StellarVixen macrumors 68000

    StellarVixen

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Location:
    Earth
    #15
    It's Granny Smith variety, I like it, it is sour, just like my life.
     
  16. Painter2002 macrumors 65816

    Painter2002

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #16
    I was so tempted to make a joke about it being a Granny Smith Apple! Lol, glad at least someone else thought the same thing.
     
  17. iMacC2D macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #17
    The repair program covered the 2011s while replacement parts were still available, but was updated to exclude the 2011 after replacement parts for the model were discontinued. (The replacement parts were junk anyway, and often failed again rather quickly.)

    As for the OP, horizontal stepped lines running through a discoloured Apple logo is absolutely a dedicated GPU failure. No doubt about it. Nothing short of a hardware repair or a replacement computer will address it either, although there are some temporary workarounds here on the forum that others have documented.
     
  18. Keats1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #18
    Tue. P.M.
    Well none of this is encouraging. After adding my self as another "User" and limiting the programs in this new profile, it seems to be better than it was.
    I read all of the posts above and I'm learning a lot of stuff about my MBP. From what I can gather, the dGPU is a processor and it's probably shot. Not sure if there are any dGPU's still available anywhere for a late model 2011 15" (not retina) model A1286 as I described in my opening post. Maybe on someones dusty shelf somewhere? Who knows...
    So it looks like a trip to the authorized Apple repair shop. That's kinda scary. All I can do is bring it in and find out how much of my pension check I have to hand over to get back up and running again. Might be less expensive in the long run to look for a replacement MBP.
    Again, Thanks to all of you that have replied. Your insight and answers have really helped..
    Keats
    Peoria, Az.
     
  19. Painter2002 macrumors 65816

    Painter2002

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #19
    If they don’t offer any free replacements, I would seriously not put anymore money into the computer, in my personal opinion. That computer is 7 years old, and even if they fix this issue for you, the issue is likely to come back.

    Besides that, it’s a 7 year old computer that is only going to get slower and will struggle more as it ages. It’s sad to say but I think it might be time to let that computer retire itself soon, rather than spend hundreds on getting it working for a limited amount of time.
     
  20. Keats1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #20
    __________________________
    Thursday 10/4/18
    I contacted an Apple Repair Shop in Mesa Az. the other day and described the situation. The reply was that it's most likely a bad GPU and that this was a problem with the late 2011 models. Apple had extended their warranty to 4 years to cover this but that time is over. He added that it was really not worth replacing - assuming that I could find another Logic Board - because the problem was in the design and would most likely happen again.
    So I'm beginning to look for a replacement. I'd love to stay with the 15" but I may have to settle for a 13" instead. Being on a pension, $$ is important so it's the used laptops that I'm going to have to check out. Maybe I can get a newer model that's been refurbished ? We'll see what happens.
    Again, Thank You to all that replied. I appreciate your input and I only wish I had better news..
    Keats
    Arizona
     
  21. Painter2002 macrumors 65816

    Painter2002

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #21
    I can tell you as someone on a limited budget as well, I went with a refurbished 2017 MBP from Apple’s refurb online store, and have been super happy since.

    If you can afford to wait for a couple more months, I’d wait til you start seeing the 2018 MacBook Pros come up on the Apple refurb site and you can snag a decent deal there. The 2018 13” MBPs have a revised keyboard with seemingly less issues than the 2016/17 MBPs (2016 seemed to be the worst), and best of all the 2018 model has a quad core processor, so it’ll be a lot faster.

    If you can’t wait, I’d try getting a 2017 off the refurb site, or through another vendor such as B&H.
     
  22. Keats1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #22
    ____________________
    Thank you.
    This is worth knowing. I'll keep my eyes open..
    Keats
    Arizona
     

Share This Page

21 September 28, 2018