Strange symbol in status bar: AT&T network

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by Zerozal, Nov 6, 2012.

  1. Zerozal macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    PA
    #1
    Have any of you seen this symbol in the status bar, or know what it means? I'm on AT&T and have seen "E" for Edge, 3G, 4G, and LTE, but today was the first time I've seen this--looks like an "o". Any ideas?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. jatt559 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #2
    gprs
     
  3. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #3
    It's a step below the Edge network, basically, you have no data connection that is worthwhile.
     
  4. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
  5. Zerozal thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    PA
    #5
    Ah, GPRS. Thanks, that makes sense. Something must be wonky today, because normally it's 4G. Philly suburbs (Montgomery County PA).
     
  6. xraydoc macrumors 604

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #6
    Yep. 2G symbol.
     
  7. AlphaDogg macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #7
    GPRS delivers something like 2kbps. It's useless.

    ----------

    Nope, it's actually the G symbol. The 2G symbol is E (for EDGE).
     
  8. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #8
    I was in Harleysville, and my girlfriend had the same problem this morning (on Verizon), and I noticed that FioS was slow as... high speed cable! :rolleyes:

    I just chalked it up to Sandy's effects still reverberating in the area. One of my friends down the road didn't get power back until the night of the 4th, so I wouldn't be surprised if some cell towers are still out too.

    ----------

    Edge is also quite capable for playing World of Warcraft on :p
     
  9. AlphaDogg macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #9
    EDGE (Enhanced Data rates for GSM Evolution) is pretty good. I used it for a while before I got my 3GS. It was a good day if I was getting 150kbps on that phone :cool:
     
  10. xraydoc macrumors 604

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #10
    Edge is a "2.5G" technology. 1G would be voice-only; no data. You can get data on GPRS, though barely at dial-up speeds. At least this is how I understand it.
     
  11. AlphaDogg macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #11
    Hmmm my understanding is different than yours. Wikipedia agrees with you. I'd put more energy into researching this if it wasn't 10pm and I still had stuff to do.
     
  12. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #12
    i dont know why apple decided to us the "o" symbol for 2G. why not just use a "G" or "1X" like every other phone since 2001 has done.
     
  13. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #13
    1xRTT is different from GPRS. Does it use "o" for 1x as well? I can't test it myself; 1x has been eradicated here :)
     
  14. xraydoc macrumors 604

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #14
    It does use "o" for 1xRTT (CDMA). And like GPRS, you can get data on 1xRTT but it's painfully slow.
     
  15. stuaz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #15
    A very familiar symbol when I am inside with cruddy O2 (UK).
     
  16. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #16
    I get the same thing 24/7 on my 4S on Verizon while I am at home. I basically have to use my 3GS on AT&T to make a call while I am here. 90% of calls drop here on Verizon.

    If I don't turn on airplane mode on the 4S while I am at home, the battery will drain in half a day while I have that o.
     
  17. mattroman246 macrumors 6502

    mattroman246

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY

Share This Page