Strange symbol

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by SayCheese, Jul 10, 2008.

  1. SayCheese macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Location:
    Thame, Oxfordshire, England
    #1
    I have downloaded the 2.0 software from the Macrumours link on the front page. It works fine, no crashes or anything that I've noticed.

    My question is this.
    I have noticed a new symbol on the top of the screen. Where you usually get a blue square or blue square with white E in it for either GPRS or Edge Connectivity, I am now sometimes getting a blue square with a White dot in it.
    I've never seen this before. Anybody know what it means?
     
  2. chris1016 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    #2
    The iPhone Guide (in your bookmarks in 2.0) says it's GPRS.
     
  3. ryanrit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    #3
    Same here

    I'm getting the same symbol, almost all the time. Worth noting I have a first-gen iPhone, so no GPRS. Anyone have any ideas?
     
  4. slapguts macrumors 6502a

    slapguts

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #4
    You're confusing GPS with GPRS.

    You've got GPRS out the wazoo.
     
  5. Niiro13 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Location:
    Illinois
    #5
    It's GPRS. I believe Apple changed the icon from a blank box to a box with a dot in 2.0. I'm sure it represents kind of a blurred E...cause some people can get confused with a blank box thinking that they can't go on the internet with a blank box. At least with a "blurred E", people realize they still can, only it's slower.

    You're thinking of GPS.

    GPRS is a cell signal that's slower than EDGE.

    So you have No service, GPRS, EDGE, 3G.
     
  6. ryanrit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    #6
    interesting..

    So if I'm getting this symbol where I previously got EDGE, what does that mean? Iis EDGE not working? Is this potentially a different chip issue, similar to the 3G reception issues?

    Should I talk to AT&T or Apple?
     
  7. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #7
    It's a network issue. Call AT&T.
     

Share This Page