Strange Wifi Problem

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by TheDrift-, Aug 6, 2014.

  1. TheDrift- macrumors 6502a

    TheDrift-

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #1
    Wierd WiFi Problem..I posted this up in the MBP section, but no one seemed to know, maybe you guys here are a bit more knowledgeable? Any help appreciated...

    I have just upgraded my 2010 MBP to a new retina model :) Wifi on new MBP works fine at home, and can connect to my iphone as a hot spot etc

    But for some reason it wont connect to my work WiFi, my old mac has no problems, nor does my iphone, I can make my iphone forget network, and rejoin to ensure entering password correctly.

    There is no mac address filtering or anything like that on the work WiFi, tried forgetting and rejoining, turning off and on..iphone works perfectly, old mac fine...but new one wont..

    ....I tried apple and they said my mac was fine, and it was probably the work network and that as my new mac uses the latest tecnology it might not be compatable..(hmmm)

    Anyone any ideas?
     
  2. dzejms macrumors member

    dzejms

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Location:
    London
    #2
    What is the wifi network name?
    Have u tried changing channel?
    Have u tried restarting router?
     
  3. TheDrift- thread starter macrumors 6502a

    TheDrift-

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #3
    Why does the name of the network matter.?..cant change it anyway..its a work network
    No its a work network, but signal very strong, old mac had no probs, phone no probs etc
    Yes, work did that for me..no use :(
     
  4. dzejms, Aug 6, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2014

    dzejms macrumors member

    dzejms

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Strange Wifi Problem

    It does matter. Sometimes if wifi name has spaces mac may not be able to connect.

    Device which is already associated won't have problem connecting.

    Speak to your admin.

    You can also try connecting using Wifi Explorer which sometimes does help when there are timeouts problems.
     
  5. TheDrift-, Aug 6, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2014

    TheDrift- thread starter macrumors 6502a

    TheDrift-

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #5
    Strange Wifi Problem

    Wifi name has no spaces..and my 2010 mbp had no probs...borrowed a 2 week old MBA and that connected fine, that had never been associated..

    I was thinking maybe some wierd keychain thing following migration? But I have taken our and re added? Running out of ideas tho?
     
  6. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #6
    how big a network? any chance of having them reboot?
     
  7. TheDrift-, Aug 6, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2014

    TheDrift- thread starter macrumors 6502a

    TheDrift-

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #7
    Strange Wifi Problem


    Them have done that for me, and issue remains :(
     
  8. dzejms macrumors member

    dzejms

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Location:
    London
  9. TheDrift- thread starter macrumors 6502a

    TheDrift-

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #9

    Tried as a guest. Problem still there :(
     
  10. dzejms macrumors member

    dzejms

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Location:
    London
    #10
    It is timing out connection or not getting ip address?

    Have you tried creating different location?
     
  11. TheDrift-, Aug 7, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2014

    TheDrift- thread starter macrumors 6502a

    TheDrift-

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #11
    It's saying connection time out, network shows an amber light, work IT confirm my MAC address has never managed to connect, I'll try the location thing thanks.

    ....location doesn't worn either :(

    I'm thinking of maybe returning the mac and trying another...? Not sure what else to do?
     
  12. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #12
    anyone else with a similar problem? or a similar macbook pro, who could try connecting?

    you could try something like this perhaps...

    reset network settings

    google the issue as well, see if anyone else has a problem...or a possible solution. good luck!
     
  13. TheDrift- thread starter macrumors 6502a

    TheDrift-

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #13
    Thanks apple have now said faulty mac.....leading to this dilemma ?
     
  14. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #14
    if apple says it's your mac...make them swap it for a new one...
     
  15. TheDrift- thread starter macrumors 6502a

    TheDrift-

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #15
    fair play they are...just not sure of the best way to migrate now..use the 2010 version which I know is ok or the more up to date 2014 one which had a problem, but I have spent some time having a clear our and optimist photoshop and Lightroom for new settings
     

Share This Page