Strange wireless connectivity problem

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by pipajungle, Jan 1, 2009.

1. pipajungle macrumors newbie

Hi All,
    I am a total newbie in MAC and recently bought a Mac so that I can experience the new OS. I have been a PC guy so.... I kinda know in and out of a PC.
    I have a wireless router 802.11b (Belkin wireless cable/DSL router F5D6231-4
    ) which has a WEP encription. The wireless connection works fine with my PC laptop wireless card. When I try to connect my MacBook with the wireless router, it asks me for a key (as it is encripted). I provide the exact same key (password) as I provided to my PC laptop .....but MacBook says that its an "invalid" key. Can anybody help me to get rid of this problem? I will really appreciate your help.

Thanks a lot!
    PipaJungle

2. jonbravo77 macrumors 6502a

jonbravo77

Mac's really like to use the WAP encryption. However, I have my wireless set to a WEP-128 bit and that seems to work just fine. I think I tried to do a WEP-40 bit but that didn't work out to well.

3. likemyorbs macrumors 68000

likemyorbs

Mac*

4. jonbravo77 macrumors 6502a

jonbravo77

Kinda figured this was coming... lol :D

5. pipajungle thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for ur reply. Can you please elaborate how do i deal with this problem?

6. jonbravo77 macrumors 6502a

jonbravo77

No, I don't use Belkin and don't know what they do as far as security goes. sorry..

7. pipajungle thread starter macrumors newbie

Anybody ...please help?...okay I will Mac instead of MAC from now onwards. thanks.

8. MooneyFlyer macrumors 65816

MooneyFlyer

I had trouble a while back with 40 bit keys as well. For a while I had a router that wouldn't deal with my Mac and I ended up using:

- SSID broadcast off
    - MAC address filtering to limit the devices to "known" (this is still not secure for the record)

What you could do is:
    1) Take off all security (hold your flames)