Strava

Discussion in 'Apple Watch Apps' started by LSarge, Mar 29, 2017.

  1. LSarge macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    #1
    Has anyone tried Strava since they updated it. I cycle and for some reason I can not get the auto pause to work with my watch. I asked Strava on twitter and they never responded.

    For the record, I have the nike+ watch.

    Thanks!
     
  2. JustMartin macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    I've got Nike Watch and have been using Strava for running since they untethered the app from the phone. It's getting better, but still has a some issues. I don't remember any problems with auto-pause.
     
  3. LSarge thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    #3
    Running has worked well for me. It's just the cycling auto pause that doesn't.
     
  4. Bob190 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    #4
    I have tried it a few times on the bike and it worked OK for me. Strava is probably using GPS to auto pause when in cycling mode vs. the accelerometer when running. Using GPS for auto pause doesn't work well in lot of cases as you have noted, and that is likely because your speed isn't registering 0.00 even when stopped. That's why Garmin and others let you set a threshold like < 3.0 mph, etc. to engage auto pause.

    I think Strava will eventually get it right, but they sure are taking their time.
     
  5. RickG macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #5
    I have the watch app and its very glitchy - I hope strata gets working on a version that actually works
     
  6. andrewstirling macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    #6
    For running or cycling? It's rock solid for running for me.....albeit a little basic.
     
  7. zokstar macrumors member

    zokstar

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Location:
    Sydney
    #7
    Same! I haven't had much problems with it!
     

Share This Page