Stream lag issues...what's doin it?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by lJoSquaredl, Mar 27, 2012.

  1. lJoSquaredl macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    #1
    Computer: 2011 Baseline 13 inch Macbook Pro (sandy bridge)

    Stream stuff: Blackmagic Intensity Extreme, Adobe Flash Media Encoder, Soundflower

    Adobe settings: BMIE 720p, 60 fps, 640x360 input and output size, 1000kbps

    My video has been lagging behind my audio by about 2 seconds. Because of this I've been cutting the audio and just playing music over my xbox gameplay but i'd really like to get this problem ironed out. Because of my capture card I have to set my adobe to 720p and 60 fps, which gets compressed to 640x360 cuz thats all my computer can handle it seems. Would this be a hardware issue, or could it be the heavy compression of video vs the audio not needing as much compression so it outputs at uneven times? I can't even begin to record in HD so i am looking at buying an iMac, can anyone tell recommended specs for recording HD video, cutting montages with iMovie, and streaming in 720p? I know alot of people capture with camtwist and eyetv which i dont have, is this what I need to do to keep it from lagging?

    Any help would be much appreciated, I've asked on a few forums and haven't really got a response yet. If anything I just wanna know if theres another program i need to use that corrects this or how much to spend on a new iMac;)
     
  2. Magaman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    #2
    This is a problem with FME, I have the same exact issue on my 6 core Mac Pro using a BMI pro. There is no issues capturing 720p video in the bLack Magic software or final cut. But using either FME or Wirecast to stream the audio begins to lag and the lag grows.

    Now to make it even more odd, if you switch to 1080i the lag doesn't seem to occur. Also to to further make me think it's FME (which Wirecast is also based on) if I run FME or Wirecast on windows via boot camp I don't have the lag issue while streaming 720p.

    I've tried everything differnt frame rates, different sizes,using hdmi audio, using line in, and Mac streaming always has an audio lag. And I've tried the adobe forums and no one has been help.
     
  3. lJoSquaredl thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    #3
    Well that's a bit of a bummer. I really don't wanna switch back to PC just to stream...specially since I just made the switch to all mac and got a mac based capture card. If you find out a remedy to this problem let me know, cuz i'm still searching and posting on forums and can't see to find info or get help on fixing this.
     
  4. Magaman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    #4
    Bootcamp, that would be your option. Any type of footage I need for editing I do in Mac, streaming I do in Windows.
     
  5. lJoSquaredl thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    #5
    Alright so pick up a copy of windows and run in bootcamp...upsetting to hear. Can I still use my Blackmagic Intensity Extreme to capture at least? (noob question I know lol)
     
  6. Magaman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    #6
    Yes, you can get the windows software off the BM site. I use MAC to capture footage for editing in FCPX and I bootcamp into Windows to stream via Flash Media Encoder Live or Wirecast.
     
  7. crankypunk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    #7
    I just got the Blackmagic Intesity Extreme today ... got it working on MAC no problem ... booted to BOOTCAMP and try over and over each driver and would not work on windows 7 bootcamp ...how did you get it to work ?
     
  8. trexid macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    #8
    Black Magic Extreme + Bootcamp?

    Wondering the same thing, you can boot camp into windows and use the Black Magic Extreme from there into Wirecast?

    Did you just use the Black Magic software on their website, desktop video? I'm trying to get a similar setup working.

    Thanks!
     
  9. WLHUNG macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    #9
    I have a 13in MBP (late 2010) model and I am having trouble setting up the Extreme. My computer won't recognize the black magic extreme when i plug it into my mac via thunderbolt cable. Did anyone have this problem or could someone help me out? I am about to return the Extreme but I really do not want to.
     

Share This Page