Stream to PS3

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by mr.steevo, Feb 14, 2011.

  1. mr.steevo macrumors 65816

    mr.steevo

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #1
    Apologies to the Mac-ies who are PS3 knowledgeable. I'm not a gamer.

    I did a few searches for how to stream from a Mac to a PS3 but the results were unhelpful. My understanding is that the PS3 can stream with Windows but I want to know if I can purchase a PS3 and stream from the Mac to the TV via the PS3. If so, how?
     
  2. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #2
    I've never used it, but Twonky does Mac to PS3 streaming.
     
  3. Smalss macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
  4. cerote macrumors 6502a

    cerote

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    #4
    +1 for PS3 Media Server also. MediaLink is not bad also but it is a paid product.
     
  5. fastasleep macrumors 6502

    fastasleep

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #5
    +1 for ps3 media server (free)
    http://code.google.com/p/ps3mediaserver/

    used to use medialink, which is worth a look as well ($20 to register), it was great but had a few problems which is why i switched, which have most likely been addressed by now.
    http://www.nullriver.com/products/medialink

    if you use vuze for bittorrent in all its bloated glory, that has a built in media server as well... (not recommended)
     
  6. zirconiawoods macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
  7. mr.steevo thread starter macrumors 65816

    mr.steevo

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #7
    PS3 Media Server looks like something that is installed on the Mac which allows the PS3 to access a folder in OS X. Does this mean that I need to duplicate movies and photos for this folder?
     
  8. DaveNinja macrumors 6502

    DaveNinja

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    #8
    I used PS3 Media Server for a year or so, but now use Majestic (also free). I found Majestic easier to set up, less likely to crash (not one so far!) and it seems to use a lot less of the CPU while transcoding than PS3 Media Server did.
     
  9. ozreth macrumors 65816

    ozreth

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #9
    I can't seem to get my mbp to find my ps3 : ( do I have to do something in my mbp's network settings?
     
  10. ulbador macrumors 68000

    ulbador

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #10
    Vuze. It streams to PS3, Xbox, TiVo, iPhone, etc. I tried a bunch of different ones and found this to be the best.
     
  11. cerote macrumors 6502a

    cerote

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    #11
    No you can set PS3 Media server to look at whatever folders your stuff is in.
     

Share This Page