Streaming content from syncing computer

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by swindmill, May 21, 2007.

  1. swindmill macrumors 6502a

    swindmill

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    KY
    #1
    I just setup my ?TV, and I synced as much as I could from my powerbook. I need to stream the rest of it, but it doesn't show up. How do I sync and stream from the same computer?
     
  2. neven macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    Make sure that:

    - The PowerBook is on and open
    - iTunes is open on it
    - iTunes is set to share its library (Preferences / Sharing)

    On AppleTV, go to the Sources menu and select "Whatever's Library". It'll take about 10 seconds to load, and you're good to go.
     
  3. swindmill thread starter macrumors 6502a

    swindmill

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    KY
    #3
    OK. Thanks. I probably could have looked around a bit more to figure that out. I was thinking the streamed content would show up with the synced content, but you have to actually change sources to access non-synced content.
     
  4. neven macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    Depending on the size of your iTunes library, the XML file that needs to be loaded to AppleTV (along with all the album art) might be quite large. I'm guessing that's why they don't have all the libraries loaded automatically.

    It also makes sense if you consider that you can stream from up to five computers - if my friend comes over with his MacBook, I might want to stream something from him, but I don't want to have all his music and movies pop up into my AppleTV library automatically and get displayed next to mine. That could be quite confusing.
     
  5. hersheytx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    #5
    THis is great to know. I have over 80 gig of music and the sync last night stopped at 32 gig. I had no idea it was trying to copy everything to the Apple TV HD. I thought it would just access ITunes from my laptop and pull it when I needed it.
    Now I need to erase what I have and start over.

    Can you just uncheck everything in ITUNES and then resync? So it will only stream. I really want to keep some of the HD free for other things.
     
  6. Krevnik macrumors 68030

    Krevnik

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    #6
    Yup.

    The nice thing is that when you select a source, the next time you bring up the Apple TV out of suspend mode, it will stick with that source unless it couldn't reconnect with it.
     
  7. hersheytx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    #7
    I kind of asked a question again about this in another post.
    So if I shut down my Laptop and then ask AppleTV to sync up another computer it will find my MACPRO?
    Will the Laptop library be an option in my AppleTV menu with the MacPro library?
    Does it remember that my laptop is on the wireless network and the Mac is on the land line DSL?
    Or does that matter?
    The Mac has WiFi. Is it putting a signal out the AppleTV can see? I know it showed 4 wireless connections when I setup my laptop. I picked the one that my laptop said was the right one.
    Could one of the others be my MacPro? I am sure I am getting bleed from some other apartment dweller but how do I find out what my WiFi number is coming from my MAC?
    THanks for all the help. I really like being an Apple convert. Buying books and software by the minute. I feel like I am back in college cramming for an exam.
     

Share This Page