Streaming live sports games help

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Gator24765, Jun 2, 2011.

1. Gator24765 macrumors 6502a

Gator24765

I am a recent college graduate that has been doing some minor pr and communications work with the athletic program. I am a comm major with a concentration in production so they have asked me to lead the start of streaming most of the home matches which the have never done before.

They have asked me what equipment I need etc and how to get this going.

What would you guys recommend?

2. -DH macrumors 65816

A lot would depend on the budget for this. If you want to keep things fairly simple, but good quality, consider one of the TriCaster multi-cam switchers which can live stream (push or pull) a switched signal from several cameras while recording to WMV and AVI format to its internal hard drive at the same time. There are multiple outputs as well so you can record to various devices if needed. They also include graphics which can be edited on the fly if you want to add the score/stats or other graphic overlays.

http://www.newtek.com/tricaster/compare.php

Of course you'll also need cameras, tripods, cables, etc.

-DH

3. linuxcooldude, Jun 4, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2011

linuxcooldude macrumors 68020

Another option is using Camtwist & Flash media live encoder both which are free. Camtwist is a software video switcher.

Another good choice is Wirecast which is another software video switcher that has a built in encoder.

I use two Black magic intensity pro capture cards that can take HDMI input from two sony camcorders that can output to HDMI. These capture cards also work great in Camtwist and Wirecast.

I use the Korg Nano Kontroller as a hardware controller to switch camera shots, movie files, lower thirds etc. by pushing buttons instead of a mouse or keyboard in Wirecast.

This would be more of a budget method but still extremely effective.

4. martinX, Jun 4, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2011