Streaming Media from Mac to PS3?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by JasonBourne1, Jan 7, 2010.

  1. JasonBourne1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #1
    I know this question has been asked like a million times - but I want to know which app does everyone use to stream their media to ps3 - whats the best way to do this.
    I have literally used every Upnp server out there and none of them are any good.
    Any suggestions?
     
  2. nutmac macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #2
    Popular solutions seem to be:
    • PS3 Media Server: Java-based solution. Crummy UI and difficult to setup properly, but it does work and it's free.
    • MediaLink: much nicer looking and easier to use than PS3 Media Server. On the down side, it costs $20 and somewhat buggy in its current beta release (it should be much more stable when final 2.0 version comes out).
    Another solution is HP MediaSmart server. It's expensive (about $500 for EX490) but it is expandable (four 3.5" SATA hard disks), frees your Mac for doing something else, can double as Time Machine backup source, iTunes media server, file storage, can also stream to iPhone/iPod touch, and more.
     
  3. rusty2192 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #3
    PS3 Media Server here

    I use PS3 Media Server. I didn't find set-up to be too hard, just a few tweaks to have it run on the correct network connection and then add the folders so it can get to my iTunes, but I believe thats about it. And it works pretty well. And best of all, its FREE!. I used a trial of Media Link, and I will agree that it has a better UI, but I could put that $20 to better use (like more movies).
     
  4. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #4
    Huh? PS3 media server is extremely easy to set up
     
  5. rusty2192 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #5
    Network is paramount to any App's success

    From my experience, the best thing I did to get a good stream to my PS3 was buy an Airport Extreme. Using an old Linksys WRT54G just was not cutting it. Using PS3 Media Server to transcode my movies worked somewhat for a while until the buffer was full, and for some reason, the audio and video never quite synced up.

    Using either N wifi or gigabit ethernet is essential to any media streaming app.
     
  6. codydham macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    #6
    Vuze

    I have used the program Vuze and it works beautifully. Its free and all you have to do is turn on PS3 sync. Simple to use.
     
  7. JasonBourne1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #7
    Streaming Media from Mac to PS3?

    Do you think the reason why my streaming is mediocre is because my PS3 is wireless connected. Would it improve if it was connected via ethernet?
     
  8. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #8
    via wireless i was able to play dvd rips flawlessly using PS3 media server. no problems at all.. bluray rips was another matter though.

    im sure its just a setting that your missing. check out my post here and change these settings to suit your climate
     
  9. nutmac macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #9
    If you ignore a slew of options crammed on a screen, yes, difficult may be a bit of an exaggeration on my part. But the fact remains, a bunch of advanced and optional settings are present on every tabs, which can be intimidating.
     
  10. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #10
    intimidating? yes. easy to understand? yes.

    downloaded PS3MS and turned it on, googled a few problems why it wasnt working (had to use static IP etc) and its working perfectly now. i do have a pretty good understanding of most things technology though so i guess others may find it hard.

    any questions feel free to ask though :)
     
  11. rusty2192 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #11
    possibly. Could always try it to find out

    The PS3 only has g spec wireless, so that could be a bottleneck. If the router is close to the PS3, there is no harm in connecting via ethernet. If its not big of a hassle, you could always try it and see if it helps at all. For me, using my old g wifi network from the computer to the router, and then ethernet from the router to the PS3 had horrible results. When i got the new router with a similar setup, it works flawlessly. As they say, "your milage may vary":p
     
  12. LevMac macrumors 6502

    LevMac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    #12
    Hey guys, I downloaded PS3 Media Server and gave it a shot, it found my PS3 perfectly and all my movies that are on my mac came up on my PS3, but playing the movies are so so slow !! :(

    My setup basically consists of my Macbook Pro and PS3 both connecting wirelessly off my Time Capsule which is set to 802.11n (b/g compatible)

    I had a look at the PS3 Media Server settings, but could not work out exact settings that would help stop the slow streaming !!

    Anything special I have to do ? The movies im sending across are .m4v files and aren't even HD/BluRay quality......

    Very frustrating !
     
  13. JasonBourne1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #13
    Streaming Media from Mac to PS3?

    Yeah that's what im finding out as well. Photo's and Music aren't a problem but movies take ages.
    I've decided to put all my films on an external hard drive and watch my movies from there.
     
  14. LevMac macrumors 6502

    LevMac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    #14
    Hey there, yeah photos and music is no problem either, but movies are stuttering and very very slow stream rate, its impossible to watch a movie :(
    Is there any magic trick I have to do guys ??
     
  15. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #15
    gigabit ethernet ;)

    just watched all of transformers 2 (1080p rip) on the PS3 flawlessly (apart from one part in the middle when it stopped playing but i fixed it). bitrates went as high at 120mbps!
     
  16. rusty2192 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #16
    Which Time Capsule? PS3 could be dragging you down

    The PS3 just has g wireless, so even though the set-up on your Time Capsule is n capable, by running the PS3 on it, it drags it down to g speeds. Do you have the simultaneous dual band model? If so, there are threads on here to set it up to run one network on n only at 5GHz and then the other one on g at 2.4GHz. Either way, the g wireless to the PS3 is going to be the limiting factor. (Why don't they put an n chip in these things?!)
     
  17. LevMac macrumors 6502

    LevMac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    #17
    Hey guys, thanks for the recommendations !

    DoFoT9, if I just run an ethernet cable from my Macbook Pro to my PS3 will that be enough you reckon ? Even though my Macbook Pro is still receiving a wireless signal from my Time Capsule ?

    rusty2192, I totally agree, the PS3 should definately have an "n" chip !!
     
  18. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #18
    ensure that your wireless card is turned off on your ps3 and you will be sweet as! (provided that your media server is working correctly of course, assign static ip from within the settings).

    :)
     
  19. LevMac macrumors 6502

    LevMac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    #19
    Thanks for the reply mate, assign static ip ? Is that through the PS3Media software ??
     
  20. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #20
    Yea mate that will work, turn off your ps3s wireless though and you will be sweet.

    Where abouts in qld are you?
     
  21. LevMac macrumors 6502

    LevMac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    #21
    Cheers mate, ill have to give it a shot, I deleted the application as it was not working 100%, so ill download it again and connect up an ethernet cable :)

    I am from the Gold Coast, yourself ?
     
  22. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #22
    sorry for the double reply sort of thing, was on mobile and it said it didnt send the message, so i wrote it again. on computer now though (few).

    in PS3Media Server you can assign a static IP address to the server (even if your computer has a dynamic IP address). this pretty much tells the PS3 what IP to look for (make sure this setting = actual IP address of computer). that was the only thing i had to do to make it work.

    im from kingscliff in NSW, like 40mins from goldy :D
     
  23. LevMac macrumors 6502

    LevMac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    #23
    Hey mate :) No problems at all, thanks for the info, ill have another crack at it soon and let you know how I go :)

    Kingscliff hey, not too far away hehehe, good to have another local on here !
     
  24. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #24
    Sweet as mate ill be around here to help if you need any :) let me know how it goes!

    Yup haven't met any MR people that live close (or any lol). I go to uni at griffith on the GC so I'm up there fairly regularly.

    I'm off to bed lads take it easy.
     
  25. skier777 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #25
    This whole thread was extremely helpful!!
    Thanks so much guys.
     

Share This Page