Streaming to PS3 on OSX PPC :)

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by zodemecu, Mar 9, 2015.

  1. zodemecu, Mar 9, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2015

    zodemecu macrumors newbie

    zodemecu

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    #1
    I found a guide on how to get PS3 Media Server working on PPC. It had some info about compiling and and replacing ffmpeg and mplayer. So, i tried to install mplayer and ffmpeg with MacPorts and replacing the included files. Didn't work, got some error about mencoder. So, tried to replace mencoder too, and then things worked. :)

    Soo...if u want to stream movies from your PPC to PS3 (G5 recommended) first, download this version of PS3MS: https://ps3mediaserver.googlecode.com/files/pms-macosx-1.10.5.dmg

    Then download "Replace files.zip" (my mencoder, ffmpeg and mplayer files) from here: http://s000.tinyupload.com/?file_id=50208726259341949491

    Unpack "Replace files.zip" somewhere. Mount and copy the PS3 Media Server application to Applications folder. Then right click on it and navigate to Content > Resources > Java > osx, and replace the three files (ffmpeg, mencoder and mplayer) with the files that I made. Report if it works for u. :)

    (If it doesn't, I guess u have to install mplayer and ffmpeg with MacPort as I did and then copy the files from /opt/local/bin. But it took a while on my G5...)

    When it comes to settings, I'm using (on the Transcode Settings tab) 50.0 on buffer, 576 audiobitrate and I need to have mp4 and mp4v on "Force transcode". Have to experiment some more with the settings I think cause sometimes I'm getting stutter.

    Btw, I just installed mediatomb. Don't know if it's possible to use that for streaming, think so. If I get it working i'll report back. :)

    Extra: Btw, I need to have my OSX firewall set to "Allow all incoming connections" or "Set access for specific services and application" and then allow the application access, otherwise it doesn't work.

    Add: I installed mediatomb with MacPorts. Mediatomb starts and the PS3 can find it. Tried to add my movie folder with the browser interface, but after a while i'm getting that the server can't be found. And, I can't find any folders inside my movie folder. Plus, when i'm adding my Movie folder it adds /Users/*name*/Music/iTunes and so on too, onto the "PC directory".
     
  2. ptdebate macrumors 6502

    ptdebate

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #2
    Do you think there's any chance this will work on my Digital Audio G4 (2.0GHz single processor)? I'll try it when I can and post results!
     
  3. zodemecu thread starter macrumors newbie

    zodemecu

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    #3

    I honestly have no idea! :eek: Never streamed stuff from the computer to the PS3 before. Try and see? :)

    Btw, I managed to find an old version of EyeConnect that works on PPC!:) 30 days trial. Works great for me.
    Didn't get mediatomb to work, and personally i'll probably stick with EyeConnect (and PS3MS should work for those that want that).
    Anyway, I think it should be possible to get mediatomb to work. Somehow.

    EyeConnect: http://s000.tinyupload.com/?file_id=60259904061595939591
     
  4. ptdebate macrumors 6502

    ptdebate

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #4
    So...I actually have a G5 now. Are you able to stream HD video at full resolution or is it limited to SD? Which program works the best, EyeConnect or PS3 Media Server?
     
  5. spf2, Mar 31, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2015

    spf2 macrumors regular

    spf2

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Location:
    7exas
    #5
  6. MrPilot macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    #6
    If the video doesn't need transcoding then it's the PS3 that decodes the video, expect full hd in that case. If the video file needs transcoding then expect horrible lags.

    I have PS3 streaming service using "PS3 Media Server" (Intel mac/WIN/Linux) and the transcoding is only necessary if I want to "burn" the subtitle file into the video in real time. Otherwise it has been always possible to skip transcoding on every file I've tried, even 1080p.
     
  7. RedCroissant Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #7
    I know this is about PS3 MS, but I like Rivet better!

    I like Rivet better because not only is is compatible with Intel Macs, it is also compatible with G5 PPC Macs!!!!
     

Share This Page