Streaming to PS3

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Shake 'n' Bake, Mar 22, 2009.

  1. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #1
    Hi everybody. This will be easier if you know my setup, so here goes:

    Computers: Mac mini (not a new one) (10.5.6) Dell XPS 410 (Vista Home Premium) Dell Studio 540 (Vista HP x64)

    Router: Belkin N+ (4 gigabit ethernet, 802.11 b/g/n)

    Connection Type: Mac (AirPort to the router) XPS 410 (Ethernet) 540 (N+ USB adapter)

    Other devices: PS3 (a few more, but they're not relevant).

    Here's what I want to do. I want to stream some video, maybe music, from my mini to the PS3. For free. I was thinking since the PCs can connect to the PS3, that I could use one of those a catalyst.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. MistaBungle macrumors 6502a

    MistaBungle

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    #2
    I ended up buying Medialink since I'd rather copy all the content to the PS3 rather than stream. Sorry I don't have anything to offer in the range of free.
     
  3. Shake 'n' Bake thread starter macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #3
    I just tried a stream between my 540 and my mini. It was way to slow. I'll probably get an enclosure for an old 40 GB HDD.
     
  4. Shake 'n' Bake thread starter macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
  5. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #5
    You can either...spend money on an external USB hard/drive and store everything on there, copying when new stuff arrives. Or...buy medialink? Seriously $20 bucks isn't much compared to the cost of the PS3 itself, and whatever games you have for the PS3.

    Medialink (while hasn't been hassle free because of some router problems) because you don't have to hassle with planning what you want to watch (or have everything already copied over). You can have the media over how many computers and still get it when you feel bored.
     
  6. sigjuice macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #6
    I have Medialink running on my 1.42 GHz Mac mini (Leopard, 1 GB RAM). Streaming to my PS3 works fine over wifi 802.11g. My router is a WRT54GL. My video files sit on a FW400 drive.
     
  7. Shake 'n' Bake thread starter macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #7
    MediaLink seems pretty good, but I've got a disused 40 GB HDD just waiting for a purpose. All I need is an enclosure. Plus I won't have to tie up the network and it'll be faster.
     
  8. Billydelp4 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    #8
  9. Shake 'n' Bake thread starter macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #9
    Too bad it is a purchase thing, it looks pretty good.
     
  10. temetrepo macrumors member

    temetrepo

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
  11. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #11
    Hmm...does look promising. I'll set it up when I have the time. Thanks for the heads up.
     
  12. Shake 'n' Bake thread starter macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
  13. Shake 'n' Bake thread starter macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #13
    Update: Tried playing a TV show last night. It worked great, didn't tie up the network too bad, and had great quality. The only thing that wasn't good was the fast forward.
     
  14. synagence macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #14
  15. TDM21 macrumors 6502a

    TDM21

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    #15
    The newest version of Vuze (Azureus) has support for streaming to 360s and PS3s. I did a quick test to the connection between my PS3 and PowerBook and it appeared to work about as well as MediaTomb.
     
  16. cpt.iphone macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    #16
    i tried medialink, but album art wasn't showing up, movies were playing slow, and not all music was being found. i store all of my media on an external hard drive, do you think that could have been causing the problem?:confused:
     
  17. deathbyart macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #17
    I am attempting this route as we speak, but the 360 does not see Vuze. I can not figure out what step I am missing... :confused:
     
  18. Shake 'n' Bake thread starter macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #18
    Just tried Vuze. It was terrible. Unless someone can tell me how to get content from my HDD into the library to share...
     

Share This Page