Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jplg842

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 11, 2007
Hello guys.

There is this local street photography contest in my neighborhood..
As i'm an amateur, thats pretty new in photography, any advice would be most appreciated.
I have a Canon Xsi with the kit lense and a nifty fifty.
(What lens is better to use?)

"Photographers will capture Hamra street with their lenses and present it the way they see it; this can be empty streets at night, crowded streets at noon, coffee shops’ life in the afternoons, Street faces we are used to see, landmarks, black and white impressions, etc… The purpose is to gather as many images as we can and from as many unique perspectives as possible on how people see, feel and live this Controversial street in the heart of Beirut."

LERsince1991

macrumors 65816
Jul 24, 2008
UK
Sounds like its all about interpretation, the way you see a city is very different to someone else. I did some street photos about a year ago for A level photography on B&W film, fully manual.
Examples here -> go on photosets -> urban

I would use the kit lens as you don't really know what your shooting and its more flexible.

If I were you I'd go out there for a day, live it watch people and scout locations (a bit), whilst taking photos. Go home, review them, edit a few and see what works and what doesn't, these photos should give you some inspiration and direction on where you want to take this project next. Then when you have some ideas, go out and shoot again :)

Good luck and let us see the results please!
Luke

uuaschbaer

macrumors regular
Aug 31, 2009