Striped partitions + boot camp?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by LeeTom, Nov 4, 2009.

  1. LeeTom macrumors 68000

    LeeTom

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    #1
    Okay. I put 2 Intel X-25M SSDs into my MacBook Pro using the OptiBay. I partitioned each one with 2 partitions (96/64 each). I've made a striped array out of the 96GB partitions and installed Mac OS X, which leaves me with 2 64GB partitions. Is there any way for Windows 7 to use those as a striped array? I've heard of dynamic disks but don't know much about them.

    Thanks!
    Lee Tom
     
  2. LeeTom thread starter macrumors 68000

    LeeTom

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    #2
    Update - using winclone to populate one of the 64gb partitions with a Win7 install I'd already had. I'll boot that up and see if it won't allow me to replicate itself to the other disk and tie it together.
     
  3. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    Did you use Disk Utility to set up the stripe? If so, I'm afraid it may not work, since if you boot into Windows it won't even see the stripe, but 2 separate disks (assuming you can even boot somehow).
     
  4. walshlink macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
  5. LeeTom thread starter macrumors 68000

    LeeTom

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    #5
    I used 128k, and since I striped partitions, not disks, I have two non-striped partitions left for Windows. I just want to know if windows has a software raid counterpart.

    Lee Tom
     

Share This Page